South Atlantic League to Have New President

ROME, GA—The South Atlantic League Board of Directors voted today to approve Eric Krupa as the next President of the South Atlantic League. Krupa will succeed John Henry Moss, the longest tenured
league president in Minor League Baseball, effective January 1, 2008.

“We were fortunate to have had so many qualified applicants interested in serving the South Atlantic League,” said Alan Stein, Chairman of the South Atlantic League Personnel Committee. “As a result of a thorough search process, we were pleased to endorse Eric as the candidate of choice for ‘The League of Choice.’”

Krupa, a native of Wyomissing, PA, has spent the past 10 years as the Director of Business and Finance at the headquarter office for the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues (also known as
Minor League Baseball), in St. Petersburg, Florida.

A 1992 graduate of Lafayette College, he began his career in baseball in 1995 as the Visiting Clubhouse Manager for the Reading Phillies of the Eastern League. He left baseball to pursue a Masters degree in Sports Administration from Ohio University, and upon completion in 1996, he moved to Florida to work as an intern for Disney as they were opening their Wide World of Sports complex in Orlando.

In 1997, he was hired by the Minor League Baseball office and moved to St. Petersburg.

“It is truly an honor to be selected by the South Atlantic League,” Krupa said. “I hope to continue Mr. Moss’s stellar example of stewardship in the years ahead.”

“I want to commend the search committee on the excellent job they did,” said Moss. “I think they made an excellent choice, and Eric is very capable of continuing the tradition of excellence in the South Atlantic League for many, many years.”

Moss is serving in his 50th year as president of the Western Carolina/South Atlantic League. In 1947, the Kings Mountain, N.C. native became the youngest person elected president of a professional
baseball league when he took the Western Carolina League from semi-pro to professional status.

A dozen years later, in 1960, Moss organized the Class A circuit as the Western Carolina League (which became known as the South Atlantic League in 1979) and has served as its President since that time.