WKYT | Lexington, Kentucky | Sports

2011 CATSPY Awards Handed Out

LEXINGTON, Ky. –University of Kentucky Athletics presented 26 honors at the ninth-annual CATSPY Awards, held Monday at Memorial Coliseum to recognize athletic and academic performance during the 2010-11 year. With co-winners in some categories, a total of five teams and 21 individuals were recognized.

Men’s basketball and the rifle team were named Team of the Year for their achievements. The basketball team advanced to the Final Four for the 14th time in program history, while also winning the program’s 27th SEC Tournament Championship. The rifle team won the program’s first national championship, while also posting an unbeaten regular-season slate in the Great American Rifle Conference Championships.

The Mr. and Miss Wildcat Awards are given for all-around excellence in athletics, academics, character and service. Eric Quigley of men’s tennis was named Mr. Wildcat, while volleyball’s Lauren Rapp and Megan Yocke of softball were co-winners of Miss Wildcat.

For the second-straight year, the Female Athlete of the Year was awarded to Victoria Dunlap, who was drafted 11th overall in the WNBA Draft and was named Southeastern Conference Player of the Year by The Associated Press and SEC Defensive Player of the Year by the league coaches as one of the nation's most versatile players. The Male Athlete of the Year was awarded to football’s Randall Cobb, who was named first-team All-America in 2010 as an all-purpose player by The Associated Press, ESPN.com and SportsIllustrated.com. He was a consensus first-team All-Southeastern Conference selection.

The Female Performance of the Year Award went to Chanda Bell of softball for her school-record 16-strikeout, no hit performance against Colorado State. The Male Performance of the Year Award was received by Ethan Settlemires of rifle for posting a 590 on the final relay to clinch the program’s first NCAA team title. The day before, he won the NCAA individual championship on Friday with a 590 in smallbore, becoming the first individual NCAA champion in smallbore in program history.

The Academic Teams of the Year were men’s and women’s cross country. The Scholar-Athletes of the Year were Kayla Sergesketter (women’s swimming and diving) and T.J. Daugherty (baseball).

A complete list of awards is below:

Character Award Caitlyn Ciokajlo (Gymnastics)

Community Service Award Ashleigh Gustafson (Softball)
Josh Nadzam (Track and Field/Cross Country)

Supporting Role Megan Moir (Women’s Golf)

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year Kayla Sergesketter (Women’s Swimming and Diving)
Male Scholar Athlete of the Year T.J. Daugherty (Baseball)

Female Academic Team of the Year Cross Country
Male Academic Team of the Year Cross Country

Female Rookie of the Year Caitlin Landis (Soccer)
Male Rookie of the Year Brandon Knight (Basketball)

Female Performance of the Year Chanda Bell (Softball)
Male Performance of the Year Ethan Settlemires (Rifle)

Scratch Award Walter Luttrell (Track and Field/Cross Country)

One Shining Moment Men’s Basketball

Bill Keightley “Assist” Award Sarah Gerichs (GA for Athletic Training)

Blue Heart Award Amber Smith (Women’s Basketball)

Coach(es) of the Year John Calipari (Basketball)
Rachel Lawson (Softball)
Harry Mullins (Rifle)

K-Association Female Athlete of the Year Victoria Dunlap (Basketball)
K-Association Male Athlete of the Year Randall Cobb (Football)

Miss Wildcat Lauren Rapp (Volleyball)
Megan Yocke (Softball)

Mr. Wildcat Eric Quigley (Men’s Tennis)

Teams of the Year Men’s Basketball

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 120670999 - wkyt.com/a?a=120670999
Gray Television, Inc.