WKYT | Lexington, Kentucky | Sports

2009 CATSPY Awards

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The University of Kentucky Athletics Association presented 27 honors at the seventh-annual CATSPY Awards, held Wednesday at Memorial Coliseum to recognize athletic and academic performance during the 2008-09 year. With co-winners in some categories, a total of five teams and 28 individuals were recognized.

Men’s track and field and volleyball won the Male and Female Team of the Year awards for their achievements. The track and field squad finished ninth at the NCAA Championships last June, the team’s highest finish ever. The volleyball team was ranked as high as No. 17 in the nation, won a school-record 17 Southeastern Conference matches and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for a school-record fourth-consecutive year.

The Mr. and Miss Wildcat Awards are given for all-around excellence in athletics, academics, character and service. Carly Ormerod of women’s basketball and Ashley Trimble of track and field were named Miss Wildcat, while football’s Tim Masthay and Bruno Agostinelli of men’s tennis were co-winners of Mr. Wildcat.

The Female Athlete of the Year was awarded to Sarah Rumely, who was the first volleyball player in school history to be named SEC Player of the Year. The Male Athlete of the Year is shared by Bruno Agostinelli of men’s tennis, who has been ranked as high as No. 2 in nation, and rifle All-American Tom Csenge (pronounced same as “singe”) for leading that team to a national runner-up finish.

The Male Performance of the Year Award went to Jodie Meeks of men’s basketball for his school-record 54-point performance at Tennessee. The Female Performance of the Year Award was received by Ashley Trimble of track and field, the SEC pentathlon champion.

The Academic Teams of the Year were men’s golf and women’s soccer. The Scholar-Athletes of the Year were Leah Harms (women’s swimming) and Brad Hart (football).

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Donnie Mefford, Tommy Davis and Chuck Stivers, longtime members of UK’s award-winning turf-management crew.

A complete list of awards is below:

Female Rookie of the Year Becky Pavan, Volleyball

Male Rookie of the Year Randall Cobb, Football

Ethan Settlemires, Rifle

Female Performance of the Year Ashley Trimble, Track and Field

Male Performance of the Year Jodie Meeks, Basketball

K-Association Female Athlete of the Year Sarah Rumely, Volleyball

K-Association Male Athlete of the Year Bruno Agostinelli, Tennis

Tom Csenge, Rifle

Female Team of the Year Volleyball

Male Team of the Year Track and Field

Supporting Role David “Bingy” Lara, Men’s Soccer

Scratch Award (non-scholarship athlete) Jennifer Stone, Women’s Tennis

Blue Heart Award (overcoming injuries) Eleia Roddy, Women’s Basketball

Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Leah Harms, Swimming

Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year Brad Hart, Football

Female Academic Team of the Year Soccer

Male Academic Team of the Year Golf

Miss Wildcat Carly Ormerod, Basketball

Ashley Trimble, Track and Field

Mr. Wildcat Bruno Agostinelli, Tennis

Tim Masthay, Football

Female Team Coach of the Year Craig Skinner, Volleyball

Male Team Coach of the Year Don Weber, Track and Field

Coach of the Year Harry Mullins, Rifle (joint men’s/women’s team)

McDonald’s Female Community Service Award Ashley Trimble, Track and Field

McDonald’s Male Community Service Award Tim Masthay, Football

Character Award Andrea Halasek, Track and Field

Lifetime Achievement Award Donnie Mefford, Director of Turf Management

Tommy Davis, Turf Management

Chuck Stivers, Turf Management

Bill Keightley “Assist Award” Adam Coleman, Strength and Conditioning Grad. Asst.

Mike Lyden Courage Award Natalie Rubinstein, Gymnastics

One Shining Moment Rifle

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 44032242 - wkyt.com/a?a=44032242
Gray Television, Inc.