WKYT | Lexington, Kentucky | Sports

Cal, Wall receive Rupp Awards on Thursday

LEXINGTON, KY – University of Kentucky head coach John Calipari and freshman John Wall will be awarded the Adolph Rupp Cup and Adolph Rupp Trophy, honoring the National Coach of the Year and National Player of the Year Thursday in Indianapolis.

It marks the first time in the 38-year history of the award that a Kentucky coach or player has ever won a Rupp Award; and it is also the first time that both recipients came from the same school.

A 4:00 p.m. ET reception and 5:00 p.m. presentation will take place on Thursday, April 1 at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, Ballrooms 8-9.

This year marks the first time that Calipari has won the award. In his inaugural season in Lexington, Calipari led the Wildcats to a 35-3 record, the program’s 44th SEC Championship, 26th SEC Tournament championship and the school’s first appearance in the national regional finals since 2005.

Calipari got off to the best start in UK history by a coach in his inaugural season, leading the Wildcats to a 19-0 start. He recorded his fifth-straight 30-win season, an unprecedented mark in NCAA Division I coaching history.

Wall becomes the first player in the illustrious history of the UK basketball program to receive any one of the primary national player of the year awards. The 6-4 freshman leads the Wildcats in scoring (16.6), assists (6.5) and steals (1.8). He set all-time UK freshman records in scoring, assists and free throws made.

Earlier this season, Wall broke the UK single-game assist record with 16 and finished his freshmen year with 241 assists, breaking the UK single-season assist mark of 232 set back in 1986.

The Raleigh, N.C. native had five double-doubles on the season, three in points and assists and two in points in rebounds, making him the first player in UK history to record double-doubles in points and rebounds and points and assists.

The honors are awarded by the Commonwealth Athletic Club of Kentucky, a non-profit organization established in 1972 by former players and of former UK head coach Adolph Rupp. The awards are determined by a select national voting panel consisting of over 90 sportswriters, coaches and athletic directors representing every major Division I conference and all geographic regions of the country.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 89611667 - wkyt.com/a?a=89611667
Gray Television, Inc.