WKYT | Lexington, Kentucky | Sports

Mathies named Co-Player of the Year in SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference announced its 2013 women’s basketball postseason awards Tuesday, highlighted by Kentucky’s A’dia Mathies and Tennessee’s Meighan Simmons being named Co-Players of the Year and Bashaara Graves named Freshman of the Year.

Along with Mathies, Kentucky's DeNesha Stallworth was named to the All-SEC First Team. Samarie Walker was named second team all-conference and teh all-defensive team.

Tennessee’s Holly Warlick has been named Coach of the Year, South Carolina’s Ieasia Walker was named Defensive Player of the Year, while Arkansas’ Sarah Watkins and Missouri’s Morgan Eye share 6th Woman of the Year. Auburn’s Blanche Alverson was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Woman and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league's 14 coaches. Ties were not broken

The complete 2013 SEC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

Coach of the Year: Holly Warlick, Tennessee
Co-Players of the Year: A’dia Mathies, Kentucky/Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Freshman of the Year: Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
Defensive Player of the Year: Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Co-6th Woman of the Year: Sarah Watkins, Arkansas/Morgan Eye, Missouri
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Blanche Alverson, Auburn

All-SEC First Team
Jasmine Hassell, Georgia
A’dia Mathies, Kentucky
DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt

All-SEC Second Team
Hasina Muhammad, Auburn
Jennifer George, Florida
Jasmine James, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Adrienne Webb, LSU
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Bri Kulas, Missouri
Ashley Bruner, South Carolina
Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina
Adrienne Pratcher, Texas A&M
Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt

All-Defensive Team
Jennifer George, Florida
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Danielle Ballard, LSU
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina

All-Freshman Team
Sydney Moss, Florida
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Danielle Ballard, LSU
Lianna Doty, Missouri
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M
Heather Bowe, Vanderbilt

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus


2851 Winchester Rd. Lexington, Ky 40509 859-299-0411 - switchboard 859-299-2727 - newsroom
Register for Email
RSS Feeds
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 195293381 - wkyt.com/a?a=195293381
Gray Television, Inc.