State officials are reminding Kentucky teens and their parents that a new graduated license law will go into effect this weekend. Lawmakers say the law is an important step in protecting teenagers, but those teenagers have a lot to say about the new law.
Kentucky's teenagers will be walking a little more as of October first. The permit phase of the graduated license says drivers under 18 years old must complete a minimum of 60 hours of practice driving, 10 of which must occur at night. Permit holders must drive with a licensed driver and will not be allowed to drive at any time with more than one unrelated person under the age of 20.
"It'll be safer so you would be able to learn how to drive when you actually drive alone," Lauren Combs said.
"I just think it's horrible because the juniors and the seniors in a couple of years won't be able to offer rides because they'll still be riding with their mom and dad," Molly Maggard said.
"It's o.k. because some people really aren't ready to drive after just 6 months, they need a lot more practice," said Sarah Bryant.
"I personally don't like it because my birthday is in the beginning of November so I'm going to miss everything by one month," Rachel Evans said.
"I don't want to say you're not as careful, but you aren't as careful when you aren't with your parents," Maggard said.
The next step of the graduated license is the intermediate phase. Drivers under 18 with this license will not be allowed to drive later than midnight and can only have one unrelated person under 20 years old. The intermediate phase of the graduated license will go into affect April 2007.
For more information on the graduated license, you can visit the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Division of Driver Licensing website at http://transportation.ky.gov/drlic/grad/grad_summary.htm
Enter your number for a chance to win great prizes!
Message and data rates may apply