5 W.Va. counties added to gypsy moth quarantine

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) - Five counties have been added to West Virginia's gypsy moth quarantine area.

The state Department of Agriculture says McDowell, Mercer, Raleigh, Summers and Wyoming counties were added after surveys documented the presence of egg masses. Forty-four counties are now regulated the gypsy moth quarantine.

The quarantine requires an inspection before trees, shrubs, logs, pulpwood and wood chips, and mobile homes and associated materials can be transported into a non-invested area.

The gypsy moth is a non-native caterpillar that has become established in most of the northeastern United States. It feeds on more than 500 species of trees and shrubs but prefers the leaves of oak trees, West Virginia's predominant forest tree.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 173860951 - wkyt.com/a?a=173860951
Gray Television, Inc.