7 more Ky. counties eligible for public assistance

Seven more Kentucky counties have been added to the disaster declaration for damage caused by the storms and tornadoes occurring Feb. 29 through March 3.

According to the Federal Emergency Management Agency, Ballard, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Pendleton, Trimble and Wolfe counties are now eligible for public assistance.

Public assistance is available to state and local governments and certain nonprofits for the repair of damaged taxpayer-owned infrastructure like roads, bridges, utilities and schools.

In total, 14 Kentucky counties can now receive public assistance.

Another 21 Kentucky counties are eligible for individual assistance for homeowners and renters. That assistance includes grants to help pay for temporary housing and home repairs. It also includes low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover residential and business losses not compensated by insurance.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 143813876 - wkyt.com/a?a=143813876
Gray Television, Inc.