Twenty Three Peace Officers Graduate From Academy

Law enforcement officers from 18 agencies graduated today from the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training's Basic Training Academy.

The 23 members of Class 382 underwent 18 weeks of training, which consisted of more than 750 hours of recruit-level officer academy instruction. Major training areas include 40 hours of homeland security training, Orientation for New Law Enforcement Families, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigation, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

The 18-week academy is mandatory for all Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state's Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University's campus.

The agency is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) and was the first accredited public safety training program in the nation. In July, DOCJT also became the first law enforcement training academy in the nation to be designated as a CALEA flagship agency.

Class 382 graduates and their agencies are:

Jamie W. Cole, Columbia Police Department
Christopher B. Denham, Elizabethtown Police Department
Daniel B. Embry, Jr., Carrollton Police Department
Jeffery T. Ethridge, Cadiz Police Department
Paul W. Fisher, Worthington Police Department
George A. Foster, Marion Police Department
Justin Gayheart, Whitesburg Police Department
Richard W. Gullett, Bellefonte Police Department
Edward R. Hedrick, Corbin Police Department
David P. Hehman, Kenton County Sheriff's Office
Douglas L. Jordan, Knox County Sheriff's Office
Matthew B. Kolter, Louisville International Airport Police Department
Robert M. Lanham, Louisville International Airport Police Department
Roy T. Lotz, Simpson County Sheriff's Office
Aaron G. Millson, Boone County Sheriff's Office
Justin L. Phillips, Campbellsville Police Department
Paul G. Purvis, Covington Police Department
Christopher D. Robinson, Boone County Sheriff's Office
Michael J. Snowden, Mount Sterling Police Department
Donald R. Strange, Jr., Covington Police Department
Ray E. Webb, Louisville International Airport Police Department
Kristopher E. Weber, Boone County Sheriff's Office
Chetland R. Wright, Eastern Kentucky University Public Safety

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8248817 -
Gray Television, Inc.