New driving laws start Thursday

By: Marcus Conroy Email
By: Marcus Conroy Email
Georgia's texting while driving ban will go into effect July 1. (June 30, 2010 / WRDW-TV)

Georgia's texting while driving ban will go into effect July 1. (June 30, 2010 / WRDW-TV)

New driving laws are going into effect across the state in just a few days.

Beginning this Thursday, no one under the age of 18 can talk on the cell phone while driving.

Jacob Chaffins is 16 years old, and just started driving. He says he has driven while on his cell phone, something that concerns his parents.

"They don't like it. They'd rather me not text or drive while on the phone because they get scared I'm gonna run a red light or something," Chaffins said.

But in just a few days, it will be illegal for Chaffins and anyone his age to call while driving.

"I don't like it. I think you should be able to use it in case of an emergency or something," 16 year-old Jeremiah Mahan said.

Prestonsburg Police Officer Bryan Hall says he sees too many accidents caused by people distracted by their cell phone. He is thankful this issue is being addressed.

"They can pull over and call, that's what it's designed to do. If they need to make a call that bad, they can pull over and make the call," Hall said.

Even though he is banned from calling, Chaffins thinks it is a good idea.

"It's a lot safer not being on cell phone than it is. It can cause less wrecks," Chaffins said.

Lawmakers and police hope he is right.

A new law banning texting while driving goes into effect on Thursday also. However, police can not issue citations until January 1, 2011.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 98366634