FEMA OKs storm recovery aid for 16 W.Va. counties

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) - Federal disaster assistance is available for residents and business owners in 16 counties hit by a June windstorm.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says the individual assistance can be used to pay for home repairs, rental assistance, disaster-related medical, dental and funeral expenses, and repair or replacement of uninsured personal property.

The Small Business Administration is offering low-interest loans to pay for business and residential losses that aren't covered by insurance. The June 29 derecho and subsequent storms left three people dead and more than 680,000 customers without electricity across the state. Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin asked FEMA to add the counties to a federal disaster declaration issued in July.

The counties are: Boone, Cabell, Clay, Greenbrier, Jackson, Lincoln, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Pocahontas, Roane, Tyler, Webster, and Wood.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 175382231 - wkyt.com/a?a=175382231
Gray Television, Inc.