Kentucky using tamper-resistant driver's licenses

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Kentucky is transitioning to a new tamper-resistant driver's license that provides greater security and protection of privacy.

The Transportation Cabinet announced that the first counties to offer the new licenses include Anderson, Bourbon, Jefferson, McCracken, McLean, Pulaski and Warren counties. McLean County begins Tuesday. The other five counties will start before the end of August.

Other counties will begin issuing the new licenses by October.

The license has multiple layers of security features, including a digital watermark imperceptible to the human eye, bank note-level fine line printing, dual-side lamination for greater tamper resistance and durability and a hologram with single-color, ultraviolet "ghost" image.

Massachusetts-based MorphoTrust USA, which handles licensing in 41 states, is implementing new workstations and camera systems for the licenses in Kentucky courthouses.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 164812306 -
Gray Television, Inc.