NWS now confirms 11 tornadoes in Kentucky

The National Weather Service confirms several tornadoes hit in Kentucky Wednesday. Thursday it included Russell and Morgan counties, saying EF-2 tornadoes hit in both of those communities as well.

Picture from Shuavon of storm damage in West Liberty.

The National Weather Service confirms an EF-2 tornado hit the town of West Liberty. The survey team toured the damage in Morgan County today. They estimate the tornado packed winds of 120 miles per hour. The tornado touched down and lifted several times over a span of six miles. The worst damage was along Highway 191.

The service is also confirming an EF-2 tornado hit in Russell County Wednesday as well. They say that tornado first hit in Casey County, before doing the most damage in the Russell Springs area.

The two tornadoes confirmed Thursday are in addition to four the National Weather Service confirmed on Wednesday. They say an EF-2 hit in the Elizabethtown area of Hardin County and in Grayson County.

NWS officials have decided two twisters hit in LaRue County. One was classified as an EF-1, and hit just west of Hodgenville. The other, an EF-2, hit in downtown Hodgenville.

The NWS also says an EF-1 tornado hit Pulaski County, an EF-1 tornado hit Henderson County, an EF-2 tornado hit Ballard and McCracken Counties, and two tornadoes, an EF-1 and an EF-2 hit Muhlenberg County.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 141055543 - wkyt.com/a?a=141055543
Gray Television, Inc.