National Guard called in for storm ravaged counties

Governor Steve Beshear has authorized a total of 275 National Guard Troops to assist Johnson, Laurel, Magoffin, Menifee and Morgan counties with storm-related damages.

The Kentucky Department of Public Health has confirmed a total of 12 fatalities reported to the agency by local coroners. Four fatalities have been reported in Menifee County, four in Laurel County, three in Kenton County, and one in Morgan County. More than 200 injuries have been reported.

Saturday morning, Gov. Beshear will tour several counties hit by the severe weather throughout Friday. He will tour Morgan, Menifee and Kenton counties with Gen. Ed Tonini, Sen. Damon Thayer, of Georgetown, and Sen. Robert Stivers, of Manchester.

Gov. Beshear declared a statewide emergency earlier today to allow local officials immediate access to state resources to assist in public safety and recovery efforts. Several local communities have declared states of emergency: Bath, Campbell, Johnson, Kenton, Laurel, Rowan, and Trimble counties and the city of Paintsville.

Trained spotters and law enforcement officers throughout the state reported 13 tornadoes in Kentucky, according to Kentucky Emergency Management.

Damage assessments and rescue missions will continue through the night. Severe storms began rolling across the Commonwealth this afternoon beginning in the far western part of the state and moved north and east of the Ohio river from Indiana.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 141271323 -
Gray Television, Inc.