President Obama declares more than 40 counties disaster areas in West Virginia

FILE - In this July 6, 2012 file photo, President Barack Obama signs the Surface Transportation Bill, in the East Room of the White House in Washington. A new law reduces by billions of dollars what companies have to contribute to their pension funds, raising concerns about weakening the plans that millions of Americans count on for retirement. But with many companies already freezing or getting rid of pension plans, critics are reluctant to force the issue or even make much of a fuss. (AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais, File)

President Obama has declared that a major disaster exists in West Virginia.

A news release from The White House states President Obama signed the declaration Monday, ordering federal aid to supplement state a local recovery efforts in the areas affected by the storms on June 29.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and straight-line winds.

The counties included in the declaration are as follows:














































Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Dolph A. Diemont as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

The derecho storms rolled through 10 states leaving millions without power on June 29.

Many residents in West Virginia were without power for more than 10 days.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus