President Obama gives education waivers to 10 states

WASHINGTON (AP) - President Barack Obama says his decision to
free 10 states from the No Child Left Behind education law will
give the flexibility they need to set high standards for students
and hold schools accountable.

Obama spoke Thursday at the White House. He says he's giving 10
states waivers from the strict and sweeping requirements. The
states are getting leeway in exchange for promises to improve the
way schools teach and evaluate students.

The president says states need to ensure that "every student
should have the same opportunity to reach their potential."

Obama says he's acting because Congress failed to update the
law, despite widespread agreement it needs to be fixed.

The 10 states are Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky,
Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Tennessee.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus