Sixty Troopers Graduate From Kentucky State Police Academy

(FRANKFORT, Ky.)—The Kentucky State Police Academy presented diplomas to 60 new troopers at ceremonies held in Frankfort. Their addition to the force brings the agency’s strength to a total of 914 troopers serving the citizens of the Commonwealth.

“Kentuckians can go to bed at night feeling safe and secure because of our KSP, so it’s critical that we maintain staffing levels,” said Gov. Steven Beshear. “This is the fourth year in a row we’ve been able to put a new class of cadets out on our roads. I’m proud of that. Despite a horrible revenue situation, I’ve made it clear we must protect and preserve our highest priorities, and this is one of the highest.”

“It's always an exciting day when we graduate new recruits,” said Kentucky State Police Commissioner Rodney Brewer. “These 60 men and women have worked hard for 23 weeks to earn the rank of trooper. They epitomize our agency values of honor, professionalism and service above self. I applaud Governor Beshear's support of our agency for allowing us to continue the training process to provide the best protection for the citizens of rural Kentucky.”

The new troopers started a 23-week training cycle on May 22, 2011 in a class that consisted of 81 cadets. Ten failed initial physical testing during the first two hours. Eleven more resigned during the weeks of constant mental and physical challenges that followed.

The training included more than 1,000 hours of classroom and field study in subjects such as constitutional law, juvenile and traffic law, use of force, weapons training, defensive tactics, first aid, high speed vehicle pursuit, criminal investigation, computer literacy, hostage negotiations, evidence collection, radio procedures, search and seizure, crash investigation, drug identification, traffic control, crowd control, armed robbery response, land navigation, electronic crimes, sex crimes, hate crimes, domestic violence, bomb threats and hazardous materials.

“Although our attrition rate is high for recruits, the end result is a highly skilled trooper that joins an elite group of professional men and women that rivals any other agency in America,” Brewer noted.

Several members of the class earned special recognitions including valedictorian Jody Cash, of Murray, Ky., and salutatorian Michael Robichaud, of Lexington, Ky.

Kenna Burton, of Stanton, Ky., received the Ernie Bivens Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the KSP Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, shows distinction as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy’s physical and vocational training.

Devan Cleaver, of Elizabethtown, Ky., and Brodie Jodry, of Jefferson, Ky., received the Commissioner’s Commitment to Excellence Award, which is presented to the cadet who demonstrates leadership, the desire to get the job done and the determination to be the best every day.

Tyrus Robinson, of Berea, Ky., received the Overall Physical Training Award.

The following is a list of the new troopers, their duty assignments and their hometowns or residences:
Jody W. Cash, Murray, Ky.
David K. Dick, Mayfield, Ky.
Brian D. Hill, Jamestown, Ky.
Michael R. Robichaud, Lexington, Ky.

Joseph R. Bartolotti, Murray, Ky.
Jonathan T. Carlock, Bowling Green, Ky.
Nathan R. Craft, Hopkinsville, Ky.
Curtis L. Crick, Greenville, Ky.

Shae M. Foley, Drakesboro, Ky.

Barrett M. Brewer, LaGrange, Ky.
Adam S. Garrett, Lawrenceburg, Ky.
Brodie R. Jodry, Jefferson, Ky.
Charles T. Loudermilk, Cold Spring, Ky.
Zack A. Morris, Shelbyville, Ky.
James W. Phelps, Cincinnati, Ohio
David A. Staubach, Cincinnati, Ohio
Joshua L. Wilhoit, Independence, Ky.

Gary L. Cooper, Independence, Ky.
Jack M. Gabriel, Lexington, Ky.
Evan B. Guilfoyle, Edgewood, Ky.
Kenneth J. Leavell, Lancaster, Ky.

Charles E. Brandenburg, Berea, Ky.

Kenna M. Burton, Stanton, Ky.
Gary A. Hall, Berea, Ky.
Jonathan D. Moore, Richmond, Ky.
William B. Sparks, Maysville, Ky.

Heath L. Ayres, Lancaster, Ky.
Joshua B. Cox, Corbin, Ky.
Jeremy H. Giles, Columbia. Ky.
Nicholas T. Hale, Columbia, Ky.
Craig T. Hulsey, Elizabethtown, Ky.
Timothy S. Hurtt, Richmond, Ky.
Christopher D. Marcum, Lexington, Ky.
Stephen B. Mirus, Morehead, Ky.
Zachariah T. Pennington, Richmond, Ky.
Clifton T. Royal, Berea, Ky.
Bradley K. Watson, Flemingsburg, Ky.

Michael J. Brigmon, Pineville, Ky.
Brandon G. Burton, Partridge, Ky.
Brian W. Maupin, Livingston, Ky.
Russell D. Maynard, London, Ky.

Jason D. Bates, Whitesburg, Ky.
Michael P. Burton, Partridge, Ky.
Derrick J. Combs, Hazard, Ky.

Tye D. Chavies, Richmond, Ky.
Devan L. Cleaver, Elizabethtown, Ky.
Daniel C. Cook, Berea, Ky.
David W. Hobbs, Beattyville, Ky.
John B. Marcum, Berea, Ky.
Tyrus K. Robinson, Berea, Ky.
Joseph A. Vorbeck, Richmond, Ky.

Jeremy W. Baker, Greensburg, Ky.
Billy J. Begley, Lebanon, Ky.
Curt A. Donahoo, Owensboro, Ky.
James T. Gaither, Leitchfield, Ky.
Boston B. Hensley III, Horse Cave, Ky.
Ashcon Karbasi, Bowling Green, Ky.
Michael K. Lashley, Leitchfield, Ky.
Levi J. Scott, Burkesville, Ky.
Chase M. Willis, Columbia, Ky.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus