Statewide distinction for two Eastern Ky. school districts

PIKEVILLE, Ky. (WYMT) - The Kentucky Board of Education and The Kentucky Department of Education recognized eight school districts across the Commonwealth as 'Districts of Distinction'.

Two of those districts are in our viewing area with Corbin Independent Schools and Pikeville Independent Schools being honored.

Pikeville Superintendent Jerry Green says this achievement happened through hard work and dedication from the students and staff along with support from the community. Green says, "We are fortunate to have a board of education that ensures that excellence is a continuing practice or a habit."

Officials say this is a huge honor to have been selected out of 174 school districts in the state.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 190452201 -
Gray Television, Inc.