WKYT, Morehead State team up for "Storm The Court"

From the Ashland Daily Independent

MOREHEAD - Morehead State University and WKYT-TV are working together for a "Storm the Court" basketball game to aid Eastern Kentucky spring tornado victims.

The contest, April 22 at 2 p.m. in Ellis T. Johnson Arena, will feature MSU alumni, basketball alumni, WKYT-TV personalities and special guest coaches.

Tickets are a minimum $5 donation and may be purchased at the door on a first come, first serve basis. All proceeds will go to the MSU Cares Disaster Relief Fund to be distributed in the region.

Concession items (drinks, hot dogs and popcorn) will be available for $1.

There also will be a special performance by American Idol semifinalist Shannon Magrane of Tampa, Fla.

Her father, Joe Magrane, starred at Rowan County High School in Morehead and went on to pitch for the St. Louis Cardinals. In 1988, he led the National League in earned run average (2.18).

MSU president Wayne Andrews and his wife, Susan, will coach the Gold team.

Their roster includes: Doug Bentz (MSU alum, All-Ohio Valley Conference player); Chynna Bozeman (MSU women's basketball all-time leading scorer); Greg Goral (MSU assistant volleyball coach); Brian Lane (former MSU assistant, current Transylvania University men's head basketball coach); Bill Mayo (MSU national champion cheerleading coach); Brian Milam (Former Eagle baseball player); Brian Miller (Former MSU guard); Amber Philpott (WKYT-TV news anchor); Shannon Magrane; Julie Magrane-Muntz (MSU athletic Hall of Fame, All-OVC basketball player).

Morgan County businessman Donnie McKenzie is head coach of the Blue team. Assisting him will be Morgan County Judge-Executive Tim Conley.

Here's the Blue squad: Donnie Tyndall (MSU men's head basketball coach); Rocky Adkins (Majority Floor Leader, Kentucky House of Representatives and former MSU basketball standout); Chris Bailey (MSU alum, WKYT-TV chief meterologist); Leon Buchanan (MSU alum, All-OVC player); Megen Gearhart (2003 Kentucky Miss Basketball, former MSU guard); Jaime Gordon (MSU head volleyball coach); David Patrick (MSU alum, communications and marketing videographer); Brett Roberts (MSU athletic Hall of Fame, 1992 Division I scoring leader); Liz Shuler (MSU volleyball star, former Kentucky All-State basketball player).

MSU dean of students Kevin Koett will serve as master of ceremonies.

Game officials include Marla Gearhart, Marvin Gearhart and Jim Tom Trent.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 146959485 - wkyt.com/a?a=146959485
Gray Television, Inc.