WYMT- Sports - Headlines

2012-13 NAIA D-I women's basketball All-Americans announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2012-13 Division I Women’s Basketball All-America Teams on Wednesday. Players were selected by the NAIA-Women’s Basketball Coaches’ Association All-America Committee with Tugce Canitez of Westmont (Calif.) named as the NAIA National Player of the Year and Kirsten Moore of Westmont tabbed as the Phyllis Holmes NAIA National Coach of the Year.

A key member of Westmont’s recent title run, Canitez is the first Warrior to earn the Player of the Year honor since the award was established in 1998. The senior forward from Izmir, Turkey, led the NAIA in defensive rebounds per game (9.2) and was second in points per game (21.6), total scoring (714) and total rebounds (414). Canitez, who received the NAIA Division I Women’s Basketball National Player of the Week award an unprecedented four times this season, was third in the NAIA with 23 double-doubles this season, including a 25-point and 20-rebound effort in the national championship final against Lee (Tenn.) on Tuesday night. She was also a 2012 NAIA First Team All-American.

Moore received Coach of the Year honors after leading Westmont to its first-ever NAIA Division I Women’s Basketball National Championship with a 71-65 victory over Lee on Tuesday. In addition to the national title, Moore guided the Warriors to a 30-4 overall record and its second-straight Golden State Athletic Conference regular-season championship. As a team, Westmont finished the season ranked in the top 10 in five categories: field goal percentage (0.445), assist-to-turnover ratio (1.082), total rebound defense (32.4), scoring defense per game (55.8) and 3-point field goal percentage (0.347). Moore boasts a 173-78 record in eight seasons at Westmont.

Seven individuals were repeat selections from a year ago: Natalie Shumpert of Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.), Hollie German of Lee, Ashley Rainey of Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Lauren Gober of Oklahoma City, Nicole Yazzie of Westminster (Utah), Heather English of Columbia (Mo.) and Canitez. Rainey, Shumpert and Gober are receiving All-America honors for the third time of their career.
2012-13 NAIA Division I Women’s Basketball All-Americans

First Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Brittney Carter Faulkner (Ala.) F So. Montgomery, Ala.
Natalie Shumpert* Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) G Sr. Paducah, Ky.
Hollie German^ Lee (Tenn.) G Jr. Benton, Tenn.
Ashley Rainey* Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) F Sr. Bowling Green, Ky.
Nicole Hampton Lubbock Christian (Texas) G So. Canyon, Texas
Lauren Gober% Oklahoma City F Sr. Newcastle, Okla.
Katie Hall Oklahoma City C Sr. Hazelton, Idaho
Nicole Ballestero Vanguard (Calif.) G Jr. Orange, Calif.
Nicole Yazzie% Westminster (Utah) G Sr. West Valley City, Utah
Tugce Canitez* Westmont (Calif.) F Sr. Izmir, Turkey

Second Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Heather English% Columbia (Mo.) G Jr. Boonville, Mo.
Jessica Pace Cumberland (Tenn.) F Sr. Nashville, Tenn.
Kourtney Tyra Georgetown (Ky.) G Jr. McKee, Ky.
Kelsey Balcom MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) G Jr. Olathe, Kan.
Ashlie Billingslea Southern Poly (La.) G Sr. Stone Mountain, Ga.
April Perry Southern-NO (La.) G Sr. Long Beach, Calif.
Janae Howard St. Catharine (Ky.) F Sr. Owensboro, Ky.
Jacquelyn Marshall The Master's (Calif.) F Jr. San Clemente, Calif.
Esther Timmermans Vanguard (Calif.) F Sr. Melbourne, Australia
Priscila Santos William Woods (Mo.) G Jr. Sao Paulo, Brazil

Third Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Adijat Adams Biola (Calif.) C Jr. Inglewood, Calif.
Courtney Clifton Campbellsville (Ky.) G Sr. Lexington, Ky.
Torrie Cahill Carroll (Mont.) G Sr. Miles City, Mont.
Ashley Tate Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) G Sr. Memphis, Tenn.
Schera Sampson Shawnee State (Ohio) C Sr. Austin, Texas
Sarah Ogoke Southern Poly (Ala.) G Jr. Sugarland, Texas
Reilly Poirier St. Catharine (Ky.) F Sr. Dennis, Mass.
Leticia Silva St. Gregory's G Sr. Whitesboro, Texas
Cydney Tibbitts Westminster (Utah) F Sr. Pasco, Wash.
Aliesha Carruthers Wiley (Texas) F Sr. Houston, Texas

Honorable Mention
Name Institution
LaKenya Drayton Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
Alisha Fanshier Baker (Kan.)
Justice Payne Benedictine (Kan.)
Jasmine Taylor Bethel (Tenn.)
Anna Brooke Page Blue Mountain (Ky.)
Gabby Harvey Brenau (Ga.)
Mackenzie Lee Campbellsville (Ky.)
Torrie Cahill Carroll (Mont.)
Ralyn Nuss Central Methodist (Mo.)
Crystal Chaney Coastal Georgia
Lily Abreu Columbia (Mo.)
Dace Bicane Cumberlands (Ky.)
Jazzmin Smith Dillard (La.)
Kaylyn Young Emmanuel (Ga.)
Sierra McSpadden Evangel (Mo.)
Christina Hayes Faulkner (Ala.)
Maria Bagwell Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)
Ashley Hurd-Spencer Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.)
Andrina Rendon Hope International (Calif.)
Jenna Adams Lee (Tenn.)
Annie Kane Lewis Clark (Idaho)
Jenna Diakos LSU Shreveport (La.)
Sharde Henry LSU Shreveport (La.)
Kelsey Canavan Lubbock Christian (Texas)
Phagen Altom Lyon (Ark.)
Jessy Christopher Martin Methodist (Tenn.)
Kourtni Williams Mid-America Christian (Okla.)
Stephanie Malone Mid-Continent (Ky.)
Sammi Bignell Montana Western
Zbeyda Aremi Oklahoma Baptist
Desiree Jeffries Oklahoma City
Nashae Owens Our Lady of the Lake (Texas)
Nikkia Davis Our Lady of the Lake (Texas)
Courtney Ward Peru State (Neb.)
Uniqua Hampton Robert Morris (Ill.)
Logan Froese Roger's State (Okla.)
Sierra Cornwell Roger's State (Okla.)
Brittany Daniel San Diego Christian (Calif.)
Sabrina Scott Southern New Orleans (La.)
Amber Arceneaux-Francis St. Thomas (Texas)
Lena Rivera The Master's (Calif.)
Chasity Kearney Tougaloo (Miss.)
Portia Craft Tougaloo (Miss.)
Chelsea Cluesman UVA-Wise (Va.)
Kierra Patterson Vorhees (S.C.)
Esther Lee Westmont (Calif.)
Kelsie Sampson Westmont (Calif.)
Cheyenne Childers Williams Baptist (Ark.)
Courtney Sturdivant WVU Tech
SiMon Franklin Xavier (La.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 199240551 - wkyt.com/a?a=199240551
Gray Television, Inc.