East KY Miners Season Schedule Released

PIKEVILLE, KY. - Eastern Kentucky basketball fans can now start circling numerous dates on their calendars. The Continental Basketball Association (CBA), the world's oldest professional basketball league, has released the schedule for its 62nd season. The East Kentucky Miners, which are headed into their first season in the historic CBA, will tip off the 2007-08 season on the road in Pittsburgh on Friday, Nov. 16 versus the Xplosion.

Tip-off for the season-opener is set for 7:05 p.m. "November 16 is the culmination of all of the hard work through the summer and fall," said East Kentucky Coach Kevin Keathley. "We can establish a rivalry with Pittsburgh early on, playing on the road in the season-opener." Miners fans can be a part of history when the team plays its second game of the debut season. After traveling to Pittsburgh, East Kentucky will return home for its season-opener on Sunday, Nov. 18 against the Xplosion. "That's the time when we get to take the floor and perform in front of all of our fans," Keathley said, commenting on the home opener for the East Kentucky professional basketball team. "It's a chance to set the tone and make our home arena an intimidating place to play."

In another intriguing early-season matchup, Rio Grande Valley (Texas) will visit East Kentucky on Monday, Nov. 26. Steve Tucker guides Rio Grande Valley as its head coach. The newest member of the CBA, Rio Grande Valley featured Keathley as an assistant coach before he returned home to Eastern Kentucky. In Texas, Keathley was an assistant coach under Rio Grande Valley Head Coach Steve Tucker.
"We've  got the Texas team, Rio Grande Valley, coming in on Monday, Nov. 26, and that will definitely be exciting," said Keathley. "There's a lot of history between myself and Rio Grande Valley Coach Steve Tucker." The 10-team CBA is divided into two conferences. The American Conference features Albany, Atlanta, Minot, East Kentucky and Pittsburgh.

The National Conference consists of Butte, Great Falls, Oklahoma, Rio Grande Valley and Yakama. The CBA will play a total of 240 regular-season games. The 16-week regular-season will conclude on Sunday, March 9. The CBA Playoffs are scheduled to get underway on Wednesday, March 12. The Miners will host 24 games inside the East Kentucky Expo Center in their first-ever season. In a 48-game schedule split evenly, East Kentucky will be on the road for 24 matchups. The Miners organization has several home game promotions in the works for the debut season. 

EAST KENTUCKY MINERS
2007-08 SCHEDULE

 
Friday, Nov. 16       at Pittsburgh, 7:05 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 18       Pittsburgh, 4:05 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 20      at Oklahoma, 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 21 at Oklahoma, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 23       at Minot, 7:05 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 24     at Minot, 7:05 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 26       Rio Grande Valley, 7:05 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 28  Butte, 7:05 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 29     Butte, 7:05 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 2        Atlanta, 4:05 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 3        Atlanta, 7:05 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 7        at Albany, 7:35 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 8      at Albany, 7:35 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 13     Minot, 7:05 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 16       Minot, 4:05 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 17       Albany, 7:05 p.m.
Wednesday, Dec. 19   Albany, 7:05 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 21       at Pittsburgh, 7:05 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 23       Pittsburgh, 4:05 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 27     at Atlanta, 7:05 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 29     at Atlanta, 7:05 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 3      at Butte, 6:15 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 4        at Butte, 6:15 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 6        Yakama, 4:05 p.m.
Monday, Jan. 7        Yakama, 7:05 p.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 9     Rio Grande Valley, 7:05 p.m.
Monday, Jan. 14       Pittsburgh, 7:05 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 18       at Rio Grande Valley, 7:05 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 19     at Rio Grande Valley, 7:05 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 22      CBA All-Star Game at Yakama, 7:35 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 25       at Yakama, 7:05 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 26     at Yakama, 7:05 p.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 30    Albany, 7:05 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 31     Albany, 7:05 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 4        Great Falls, 7:05 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 6     Great Falls, 7:05 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 9      Minot, 7:05 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 10       Minot, 4:05 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 11       at Pittsburgh, 7:05 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 13    at Great Falls, 6:05 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 14     at Great Falls, 6:05 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 17       at Albany, 7:35 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 22       at Pittsburgh, 7:05 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 24       at Atlanta, 3:05 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 25       at Atlanta, 3:05 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 28     Oklahoma, 7:05 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 29       Oklahoma, 7:05 p.m.
Sunday, Mar. 2        Atlanta, 4:05 p.m.
Thursday, Mar. 6      at Minot, 7:05 p.m.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8870992 - wkyt.com/a?a=8870992
Gray Television, Inc.