WYMT- Sports - Headlines

Andre Rodriguez Named NCBWA Division II All-America Honorable Mention

DALLAS, TX -- Lincoln Memorial University's Andre Rodriguez has been named to the 2012 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Division II All-America Team, officials announced Tuesday evening.

Rodriguez earned honorable mention distinctions a few days after being selected to the 2012 Daktronics All-America Third Team. Rodriguez has put together one of the most distinguished seasons in recent memeory for the Lincoln Memorial University baseball program as he was selected All-South Atlantic Conference First Team, NCBWA All-Southeast Region First Team, ABCA All-Southeast Region First Team and Daktronics All-Southeast Region First Team. He was the first player in the history of Railsplitters' baseball to garner Daktronics All-America honors.

Rodriguez, a second baseman out of Las Piedras, Puerto Rico, recorded an impressive statistical season that has become well-recognized throughout the region and country in the weeks leading up to this selection. Offensively, he led the Railsplitters in batting average, hits, slugging percentage and on-base percentage. His .414 batting mark finished second in the South Atlantic Conference and second on the all-time list for a single season at LMU. His on-base percentage of .494 ranks fifth on the all-time list for a single season in school history.

Rodriguez was a highlight of the 2012 campaign for the Lincoln Memorial University baseball program as the Railsplitters went 21-28 overall on the season. LMU narrowly missed out on postseason play as they fell out of the top-6 on the final weekend of regular season play.

The South Atlantic Conference was well-represented on the NCBWA Division II All-America list. Wingate University's Casey Allison earned First Team distinctions while Tusculum College's Craig Goodman was named to the Third Team. Rodriguez was joined by Tusculum's Cade Stallings on the honorable mention list.

Shepherd's Nathan Minnich was named the NCBWA National Player of the Year. Minnich was also named Daktronics National Player of the Year along with garnering the ABCA National Player of the Year crown.

Southern New Hampshire was named NCBWA National Pitcher of the Year.

2012 NCBWA Division II All-America Team

First Team
C - Geno Escalante, Mount Olive
1B - Nathan Minnich, Shepherd
2B - Joe Wendle, West Chester
3B - Bryan Lippincott, Concordia-St. Paul
SS - Blake Miller, Western Oregon
OF - Casey Allison, Wingate
OF - Ryan Busboom, Fort Hays State
OF - Zach Taylor, Armstrong
UTL/DH - Anthony Boza, sr., Lynn
SP - Timothy Flight, Southern New Hampshire
SP - Carl O'Neal, St. Mary's (Texas)
SP - Grady Wood, Western Oregon
RP - Stephen Johnson, St. Edward's

Second Team
C - Zach Braun, Bemidji State
1B - Jacob Rogers, Mount Olive
2B - Carlos Asuaje, Nova Southeastern
3B - Daniel Duran, Cal State Los Angeles
SS - Grant DeBruin, Alabama-Huntsville
OF - Jeff Popick, Colorado Mesa
OF - Areo Regoli, Nova Southeastern
OF - James Roche, Franklin Pierce
UTL/DH - Joe Vaskas, Emporia State
SP - Geoff Broussard, Cal Poly Pomona
SP - Derek Hansen, Augustana
SP - Lee Stoppelman, Central Missouri
RP - Brad Zambron, Grand Valley State

Third Team
C - Kyle Morrow, Pittsburgh-Johnstown
1B - Bo Folkinga, Western Oregon
2B - Nate Van Roekel, Winona State
3B - John Calhoun, Washburn
SS - Seth McMullen, Winona State
OF - Sean Collette, Alderson-Broaddus
OF - Eli Davis, Cal State Stanislaus
OF - Danny Susdorf, UC San Diego
UTL/DH - Mike Mercurio, Mount Olive
SP - Logan Birr, St. Cloud State
SP - Chad Boughner, North Alabama
SP - Craig Goodman, Tusculum
RP - Emilio Pagan, Belmont Abbey

Honorable Mention
C - Landon Sullins, Arkansas Tech
1B - Zach Mathieu, Franklin Pierce
2B - Eric Dawson, Emporia State;
2B - Kevin Odom, Cal Baptist
2B - Andre Rodriguez, Lincoln Memorial
3B - Cade Stallings, Tusculum
SS - Keith Morrisroe, Concord
SS - Frank Salerno, St. Thomas Aquinas
OF - Steve Anderson, Grand Valley State
OF - Bobby Egeberg, Colorado Mines
OF - Josh Haley, UNC Pembroke
OF - Phil Imholte, St. Cloud State
OF - Shane Latshaw, Mercyhurst
OF - Derek Mendoza, Grand Canyon
UTL/DH - Cameron Dullnig, Texas A&M-Kingsville
UTL/DH - Kyle Davis, New Mexico Highlands
UTL/DH - Derek Hansen, Augustana
SP - Donovan Drake, Indianapolis
SP - Harvey Martin, Minnesota State
SP - Ben Rawding, Mercyhurst
SP - Mark Sappington, Rockhurst
SP - Lou Trivino, Slippery Rock
RP - Jordan Oncay, Wilmington

NCBWA National Player of the Year: Nathan Minnich, Shepherd
NCBWA National Pitcher of the Year: Timothy Flight, Southern New Hampshire

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 155834585 - wkyt.com/a?a=155834585
Gray Television, Inc.