WYMT- Sports - Headlines

Cheerleaders honored by the Mid-South Conference

PIKEVILLE, Ky. – Two University of Pikeville cheerleaders were named to the all-conference team and six were honored academically on Wednesday at a banquet which preceded the Mid-South Conference cheer competition.

Junior Taylor Stone and sophomore Jerrica Lambert were named all-conference. Stone is from Pikeville while Lambert hails from Buckhorn.

Those named to the academic all-conference team, having achieved at least sophomore status with a 3.25 grade-point average, were:

• Demitri Curry, a sophomore from Stockbridge, Ga., who has a double major in both psychology and criminal justice. Curry was the only male on the academic all-conference team

• Ali Goff, a sophomore from Jenkins who majors in biology

• Ashlee Looney, junior from Grundy, Va., who majors in history/political science

• Jocelyn McCown, a junior from Belfry majoring in history/political science

• Taylor Stone, a junior from Pikeville who majors in elementary education

• Ashley Sturgell, a sophomore from Williamson, W.Va., majoring in psychology

Campbellsville University captured the cheerleading championship tonight at the Frankfort Convention Center.

The conference team title is the third in four years for the Tigers and their fourth in the last six years. Campbellsville also won the title in 2007, 2009 and 2010.

University of Virginia's College at Wise finished second in the team portion followed by Georgetown College in third place.

UVa.-Wise's Heather Huntington earned the MSC Cheerleader of the Year in a competition following the team event.

Huntington is one of 16 cheerleading student-athletes named to the all-conference team. The all-conference team along with academic all-conference was announced earlier in the day at the conference's annual banquet.

Joining Huntington and Pikeville’s combination on the all-conference team were Campbellsville's Ashley Bates and Joe Blackstone; Cumberlands' Jade Jones and Hanna Johnson; Georgetown's Danielle Ransdell and Ashley Vallance; Lindsey Wilson College's Ashley Partin and Keaira Harris; University of Pikeville's Jerrica Lambert and Taylor Stone; Shawnee State University's Dezaray Minturn and Tiffini Hale; St. Catharine College's Mandy Gray and Jordan Boyle; and UVa.-Wise's Samantha Smith.

Campbellsville coach Vanessa Adkins is the Mid-South Conference Coach of the Year and Campbellsville's Audrey Wunderlick is the MSC Champions of Character recipient. Wunderlick earned the award – as voted on by the conference athletics directors – for her civic and servant leadership within the campus and community.

Pikeville six members of the academic all-conference team were joined by 34 others from around the league. They are Campbellsville's Makayla Jessie, Lyndsey McClain, Alexa Moore and Audrey Wunderlich; Cumberlands' Erica Christian and Rebecca Watkins; Georgetown's Jaime Horne, Kristen Rowe, Maura Shirley and Ashley Vallance; Lindsey Wilson's Allison Adcock, Joanie Alexander, Erika Finley, Madeline Hutcherson, Morgan Lawson, Elizabeth Lieske, Whitney Rodgers and Kelsey Whelan; Rio Grande's Callie Daugherty and Shelby Sizemore; Shawnee State's Sarah Bowling, Morgan Campbell, Lacey Cobb, Lynne Macchia, Julia McCane, Dezaray Minturn and Amanda Pizer; St. Catharine's Adrienne Bishop, Jordan Boyce, Amy Edelen, Pilar Espinosa, Mandy Gray and Krista Russell; and UVa.-Wise's Carlee Reiber and Samantha Smith.

The Mid-South Conference is the only league on any level of college athletics that gives championship cup points for cheerleading.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 141079513 - wkyt.com/a?a=141079513
Gray Television, Inc.