WYMT- Sports - Headlines

Fifteen Eagles earn postseason PFL honors

MOREHEAD, Ky. -- Fifteen Morehead State Eagles have earned 2012 Pioneer Football League postseason honors, including two individuals who were named to the league’s first team and four individuals who were tabbed to its second squad.

Donte Sawyer and Rees Macshara are first-team selections on offense. Joey Clegg is a second-team choice on offense, while Aaron Meadows and Jordan Hendrix are second-team picks on defense and Sawyer is a second-team selection on special teams.

In addition, Ronald Cooper, Rainer Duzan, Dexter Geohagan, Kalvin Harrington, Michael Jackson, Rob Lewis, Zach Lewis, Eric Matteson and Kameron Scott are all honorable mentions. A total of 116 individuals have been recognized from 10 PFL schools.

Sawyer, a senior wide receiver from Acworth, Ga., set MSU career records for receptions (199), receiving yards (2,555) and receiving touchdowns (24). He also set school standards for single-season receptions (81) and receiving yards (1,024).

Sawyer led the conference in receptions per game (7.4) and all-purpose yards per contest (159.0), while ranking second in receiving yards per affair (93.1) and kick-return average (26.2). He also posted two of MSU’s three kick returns for scores.

Macshara, a sophomore running back from Danville, Ky., became MSU’s first 1,000-yard rusher since the 2000 campaign. He placed second in the conference and 37th in the Football Championship Subdivision with 92.1 rushing yards per game.

Macshara also finished the season with five 100-yard rushing performances over his last six tilts. He rolled up a career-high 211 yards on 25 carries -- an average of 8.4 per attempt -- in a 76-24 rout of Valparaiso in the season finale.

Clegg, a senior offensive lineman from Westerville, Ohio, blocked for a unit that led the conference in points (38.4), total yards (471.5), passing yards (305.4), third-down conversions (51.0), sacks allowed (1.00) and red-zone conversions (88.4).

Meadows, a junior defensive lineman from Salt Lick, Ky., registered 43 total tackles. He tallied a career-high seven stops at rival Eastern Kentucky. He also paced the Eagles with six sacks (for 51 yards) and 12 tackles for loss (for 73 yards).

Hendrix, a sophomore linebacker from Columbus, Ohio, set MSU’s single-season record with 123 tackles, which led the PFL and ranked 10th at the FCS level. He collected eight double-figure tackle performances, including 17 at EKU.

Lewis, a senior quarterback from Manchester, Ky., led the honorable mention selections in his final campaign by completing 266-of-402 passes for 2,955 yards (268.6 per game) and 25 touchdowns.

Lewis finished his career by setting MSU records for completions (936), passing attempts (1,499), passing yards (10,251), passing touchdowns (72), offensive plays (1,710) and total yards (10,164).

Duzan, a senior specialist from Dublin, Ohio, also re-wrote his section of the MSU record book. He drilled 54-of-57 extra-point attempts this year, which were both single-season standards.

From a career standpoint, Duzan established school records for field goals (36), field-goal attempts (53), extra points (150), extra-point tries (156) and points by a kicker (258).

Harrington, a junior from Seville, Ohio, and Matteson, a senior from Saline, Mich., were both recognized with the offensive line group.

Cooper, a freshman from Atlanta, and Lewis, a first-year player from Somerset, Ky., both earned honors at the defensive line position.

Geohagan, a senior from Far Rockaway, N.Y., Jackson, a sophomore from Cincinnati, and Scott, a senior from Portsmouth, Va., were all given the nod at defensive back.

Jackson led the defensive honorable-mention selections with 57 total tackles, while Scott added 54. Jackson also contributed an interception, fumble recovery and forced fumble, while Scott recorded one pick and scooped up three loose footballs.

Morehead State finished the campaign 4-7 overall and 3-5 in the PFL. The Eagles won three of their last four contests after beginning the year 1-6.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 183021831 - wkyt.com/a?a=183021831
Gray Television, Inc.