WYMT- Sports - Headlines

Kentucky 's A'dia Mathies selected for State Farm college slam dunk & 3-point championships

CHICAGO Il. - Kentucky’s A’dia Mathies will participate in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships at 7 p.m. ET April 4 at McCamish Pavilion on the campus of the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Intersport announced today via Twitter. The 25th annual event, which will showcase the dunking and sharp-shooting talents of 24 of the nation’s top college basketball players, will be broadcast live on ESPN. The broadcast team includes Brad Nessler, Dan Dakich, Jimmy Dykes and Samantha Ponder.

Individual events include: Hampton Hotels Men’s 3-Point Championship, State Farm Women’s 3-Point Championship, Pepsi MAX Battle of the Champions and Denny’s Slam Dunk Championship.

Mathies will be competing in the State Farm Women’s 3-Point Championship. One of the most decorated players in the country, Mathies is a finalist for the State Farm Wade Trophy, the Naismith Trophy and the John R. Wooden Award and earned Southeastern Conference Player of the Year honors in 2012 and 2013. Mathies ended her career as Kentucky’s all-time leader in steals (320), games played (140) and games started (139) and is ranked second in scoring (2,014) and 3-point field goals made (177). Kentucky’s season ended with an Elite Eight loss yesterday to No. 1 seed Connecticut. The 2012-13 season will go down as the most successful in program history, with a school-record 30 wins and eight victories over Top 25 opponents.

One player already named to the Denny’s Slam Dunk Championship roster is High Point’s senior forward Corey Law, who won the State Farm Dark Horse Dunker competition. The State Farm Dark Horse Dunker Facebook bracket was a five-week knockout competition that began with 16 under-the-radar dunkers who had what it takes to compete against the D-I field in Atlanta. Fans determined the winner by voting during each round at the official Facebook page (www.facebook.com/CollegeSlam).

Fan involvement continues as voting via Twitter will serve as the “Fifth Judge” in the Denny’s Slam Dunk Competition. Fans can vote on every dunk by simply tweeting #CollegeSlam, followed by the player’s last name and a score between one and 10 (e.g. #CollegeSlam #Smith10). From there, an average rating will be calculated and that rating will be paired with the four celebrity judges’ scores to make up each player’s total score.

The four celebrity judges for the 2013 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships are:
-Harry Douglas, wide receiver for the Atlanta Falcons;
-Julio Jones, Pro Bowler and wide receiver for the Atlanta Falcons;
-Demaryius Thomas, former Georgia Tech standout and 2013 Pro Bowl wide receiver for the Denver Broncos; and
-Roddy White, four-time Pro Bowler and All-Pro wide receiver for the Atlanta Falcons.

Alumni of the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships include Gary Payton (Oregon State), Steve Nash (UC-Santa Clara), Allan Houston (Tennessee), Bobby Hurley (Duke), Michael Finley (Wisconsin), Wes Matthews (Marquette), and Mario West (Georgia Tech). Also, six current members of the Harlem Globetrotters are alumni of this event: Kris Bruton, William Bullard, Herb Lang, Bryan Narcisse, Darnell Wilks and John Williams.

For more information, visit www.collegeslam.com, find us on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/collegeslam) and follow us on Twitter (@CollegeSlam).

For media interested in attending the event, please contact Lauren Price at lprice@intersportnet.com.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 201157061 - wkyt.com/a?a=201157061
Gray Television, Inc.