WYMT- Sports - Headlines

Three Eagles invited to FCS Senior Scout Bowl

MOREHEAD, Ky. -- Zach Lewis, Donte Sawyer and Dexter Geohagan will represent Morehead State on Saturday at the 2012 Football Championship Subdivision Senior Scout Bowl in Myrtle Beach, S.C. Kick-off from Doug Shaw Stadium is set for 5 p.m. ET.

The FCS Senior Scout Bowl, which is presented by the Collegiate Development Football League, showcases more than 100 players in a North vs. South All-Star Game format after each season.

Lewis, a quarterback from Manchester, Ky., led the Morehead State offense in his final campaign by completing 266-of-402 passes for 2,955 yards (268.6 per game) and 25 touchdowns.

Lewis finished his career by setting MSU records for completions (936), passing attempts (1,499), passing yards (10,251), passing touchdowns (72), offensive plays (1,710) and total yards (10,164).

Sawyer, a wide receiver from Acworth, Ga., set MSU career records for receptions (199), receiving yards (2,555) and receiving touchdowns (24). He also set school standards for single-season receptions (81) and receiving yards (1,024) in 2012.

Sawyer led the conference in receptions per game (7.4) and all-purpose yards per contest (159.0), while ranking second in receiving yards per affair (93.1) and kick-return average (26.2). He also posted two of MSU’s three kick returns for scores.

Geohagan, a defensive back from Far Rockaway, N.Y., collected 43 total tackles, seven pass break-ups and two interceptions for the Eagles this past year.

Sawyer was a First-Team All-Pioneer Football League selection as a wide receiver and second-team choice as a return specialist. Lewis and Geohagan were both named to the league’s honorable mention list at their respective positions.

For more on the Senior Bowl, visit FCSSeniorBowl.com. For more on Morehead State football, visit MSUEagles.com.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 183530311 - wkyt.com/a?a=183530311
Gray Television, Inc.