WYMT- Sports - Headlines

Younger earns MSC post-season award

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Mid-South Conference officials announced individual awards for the 2012 football season. This year UVa-Wise’s Terrence Younger was honored as the East Offensive Freshman of the Year. Younger finished his first season with the Cavaliers with 24 receptions for 515 yards and a touchdown in just five games.

Along with Younger’s accolades, eight others were named to the All-Conference and honorable mention All-Conference team for the 2012 Football Season. Alex Martin (offensive line) and Marcus Bratton (return specialist) were both named to the 2012 First-Team All Mid-South Conference East Division.

Bratton was also named to the 2012 Honorable Mention All-Conference as a defensive back. Joining Bratton are Terrence Younger (wide receiver), Connery Swift (running back), defensive linemen Walter Mickey and A.J. Portee, Derek Comer (linebacker) and Dean Hogan (punter).

The Mid-South Conference also announced the All-Academic team for the 2012 football season. Thomas Wright, Gil Lusk, Tyler Graham, Capers Zentmeyer, and Jordan Sandidge were all were selected to the team for the Cavaliers. To be placed on the team, the student-athlete must at least be a sophomore in academic standing while maintaining a 3.25 grade point average. He or she must also be in good academic standing with their academic institution while be a key member of their athletic team.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 179534441 - wkyt.com/a?a=179534441
Gray Television, Inc.