WKYT - WYMT Sports Overtime - Headlines

Field set for 2014 OVC Men's Basketball Championship

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. -- Release courtesy of the Ohio Valley Conference:

The field for the 2014 Ohio Valley Conference Men's Basketball Championship has been set after the final day of the regular season.

Belmont will be the No. 1 seed after winning the OVC regular-season championship for the second-straight year. Murray State took first place in the West Division and is the No. 2 seed. Under the league's merit-based bracketing system, both teams will receive double byes to Friday's semifinals.

The No. 3 and No. 4 seeds are Eastern Kentucky and Morehead State. Both of those teams receive a single bye to Thursday's quarterfinals.

The field is rounded out No. 5 seed Tennessee Tech, No. 6 seed Southeast Missouri, No. 7 seed Eastern Illinois and No. 8 seed SIU Edwardsville.

For the fourth year in a row, all eight men's and eight women's team will play every game of the championship at Municipal Auditorium in Nashville, Tenn. The merit-based system gives the No. 1 and 2 seeds a double bye to the semifinals, while the No. 3 and 4 seeds get a single bye to the quarterfinals. The first round will match up the No. 5/8 and No. 6/7 seeds.

This year marks the 20th time in the past 21 years that the tournament has been held in Nashville.

This year is the ninth time the combined men's and women's championship has been held at Municipal Auditorium; the men also held tournaments at Municipal in 1967 and 1989.

This year marks the 51st time the OVC Men's Basketball Championship has been held; the event is the fourth oldest Division I basketball championship tournament.

This year's first round and quarterfinals can be seen for free exclusively on the OVC Digital Network (www.OVCDigitalNetwork.com), the league's web streaming platform. The games are available on any computer, tablet or smart phone without needing any special downloads, apps or registration.

The semifinals will air live on ESPNU, while the championship game will air live on ESPN2 and on the Westwood One Radio Network.

2014 Ohio Valley Conference Men's Basketball Championship (Municipal Auditorium - Nashville, Tenn.)

First Round - Wednesday, March 5
Game 1 - #5 Tennessee Tech vs. #8 SIU Edwardsville - 7 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. CT (OVC Digital Network)
Game 2 - #6 Southeast Missouri vs. #7 Eastern Illinois - 9 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. CT (OVC Digital Network)

Quarterfinals - Thursday, March 6
Game 3 - #4 Morehead State vs. Game 1 Winner - 7 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. CT (OVC Digital Network)
Game 4 - #3 Eastern Kentucky vs. Game 2 Winner - 9 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. CT (OVC Digital Network)

Semifinals - Friday, March 7
Game 5 - #1 Belmont vs. Game 3 winner, 7:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)
Game 6 - #2 Murray State vs. Game 4 winner, 10 p.m. ET / 9 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Championship - Saturday, March 8
Game 7 - Semifinal Winners - 7 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. CT (ESPN2)


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WYMT CONTACT INFO 199 Black Gold Blvd. Hazard, KY 41701 606-436-5757 - switchboard 606-439-9968 - newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 248099311 - wkyt.com/a?a=248099311
Gray Television, Inc.