WKYT - Your Town - Headlines

Fairness PAC Endorses in Fourteen Primary Races for May 22 Election

Fairness PAC Endorses in Fourteen Primary Races for May 22 Election

Judge Irv Maze
— KY Court of Appeals District 4, Division 1
Steve Ryan
— Commonwealth's Attorney District 30
Amy Shoemaker
— KY Senate District 19
Senator Denis Harper Angel
— KY Senate District 35
Senator Perry Clark
— KY Senate District
Representative Tom Burch
— KY House District 30
Representative Mary Lou Marzian
— KY House District 34
Representative Reginald Meeks
— KY House District 42
Representative Joni Jenkins
— KY House District 44
Susan D. Johns
— KY House District 48
Councilwoman Attica Woodson Scott
— Metro Council District 1
Councilman Tom Owen
— Metro Council District 8
Councilman Rick Blackwell
— Metro Council District 12
Teague Ridge
— Metro Council District 18

(Louisville, KY) The Fairness Campaign's political action committee, C-FAIR, today announces endorsements in fourteen Jefferson County primary races for the Tuesday, May 22 election.

Judge Irv Maze receives the C-FAIR nod in the nonpartisan primary for Kentucky Court of Appeals 4th Appellate District, 1st Division. Judge Maze's long-standing support of Fairness alongside his wide range of experience in all three branches of government makes him a strong, logical choice.

Steve Ryan's wealth of experience on the bench and within the Commonwealth's Attorney office gives him the edge in the Democratic primary. Ryan's ideas regarding the restructuring of drug courts, using mediation in criminal cases, and initiating a restorative justice program elucidate his commitment to Fairness and justice for all.

Amy Shoemaker is C-FAIR's choice in the four-way Democratic primary for Kentucky Senate District 19. Shoemaker's vivid commitment to social and economic justice combined with her engaging personality and ability to negotiate will serve her well in Frankfort as representative to this diverse senate district.

Senator Denise Harper Angel once again earns C-FAIR's support in the Democratic primary for Kentucky Senate District 35. Senator Harper Angel's breadth of knowledge and experience with Fairness issues and the Kentucky State Senate confirms she is the most equipped to further Fairness causes.

Senator Perry Clark, uncontested in his Democratic primary for Kentucky Senate District 37, receives strong C-FAIR support for his bold co-sponsorship of a statewide anti-discrimination Fairness law last year and his stated commitment to equality for all Kentuckians.

Representative Reginald Meeks is again the C-FAIR choice in the Democratic primary for Kentucky House District 42. A long-time ally of Fairness, Rep. Meeks cast an early vote for Louisville's Fairness ordinance as an alderman and has supported and co-sponsored inclusive legislation ever since.

Representative Tom Burch (Kentucky House District 30), Representative Mary Lou Marzian (Kentucky House District 34), Representative Joni Jenkins (Kentucky House District 44) and Susan D. Johns (Kentucky House District 48), all champions of Fairness, receive solid endorsements in their uncontested Democratic primary races.

Councilwoman Attica Woodson Scott earns the C-FAIR endorsement in the Democratic primary for Metro Council District 1. Councilwoman Scott, a former organizer for Kentucky Jobs With Justice, has proven time and again she has few peers as energetic and effective a social justice advocate as herself.

Councilman Tom Owen's long and distinguished record of progressive public service grants him another C-FAIR endorsement in the Metro Council District 8 Democratic primary. A University of Louisville historian, Dr. Owen knows Louisville, its history, and its needs as well or better than anyone in Metro Government.

Councilman Rick Blackwell receives the C-FAIR endorsement once more in his uncontested Democratic primary for the Metro Council District 12 seat. Endorsed by C-FAIR for nearly a decade, Councilman Blackwell has proven himself a strong friend of Fairness and labor.

Ryan Teague Ridge, a first-time political candidate for Metro Council District 18, has earned the C-FAIR endorsement in his uncontested Democratic primary for his comprehensive support of all our civil rights, social, and economic justice issues. A successful entrepreneur in a variety of businesses, Ridge possesses an intimate knowledge of and passionate commitment to the welfare of District 18 residents.

Candidate questionnaires were mailed to each individual running for elected office in Jefferson County; those who returned the questionnaire were granted an interview with a team of C-FAIR volunteers, who then made an endorsement recommendation to the board of directors.

Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 148093035 - wkyt.com/a?a=148093035
Gray Television, Inc.