WKYT - Danville - Headlines

7 Ky. counties receive disaster declaration

The U.S. Agriculture Department designated seven Kentucky counties as natural disaster areas.

In this Aug. 22, 2012, drought condition water levels have taken their toll on the wildlife at Anderson Lake State Fish & wildlife Area near Astoria, Ill. According to the latest drought report released Thursday, Aug. 23, 2012, nearly all of Illinois, Nebraska, Kansas and Missouri are in extreme or exceptional drought, with Illinois showing the most-dramatic climb in those categories, spiking 17 percentage points in one week, to 96.72 percent, according to the map. (AP Photo/Seth Perlman)

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - The excessive heat and drought in Kentucky this summer have drawn natural disaster area designations for seven counties.

Surrounding counties are also affected as well as two counties each in Indiana and Tennessee.

The U.S. Agriculture Department designated primary natural disaster areas in Boyle, Hardin, Henry, LaRue, Mercer, Monroe and Oldham counties. The designation means farmers may be eligible for assistance. Information is available through local USDA Service Centers or at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov .

Contiguous Kentucky counties where producers qualify for assistance are Allen, Anderson, Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Carroll, Casey, Cumberland, Franklin, Garrard, Grayson, Green, Hart, Jefferson, Jessamine, Lincoln, Marion, Meade, Metcalfe, Nelson, Owen, Shelby, Taylor, Trimble, Washington and Woodford.

Out-of-state contiguous counties are Clark and Harrison in Indiana and Clay and Macon in Tennessee.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 168889846 - wkyt.com/a?a=168889846
Gray Television, Inc.