WKYT - Georgetown - Headlines

Dry conditions force more counties to issue burn bans

By: Tamara Evans Email
By: Tamara Evans Email

More people are being told they can't burn anything outside until further notice.

The Lexington Fire Department issued a burn ban for Fayette County Friday.

The Lexington Fire Department says Fayette County's outdoor burn ban covers the following:

(1) Fires set for recreational or ceremonial purposes.

(2) Fires set for the purpose of weed abatement and pest prevention.

(3) Fires set for the purpose of bona fide instruction and training of public and industrial employees in the methods of fighting fires.

(4) Fires set for recognized agricultural, silvicultural, range, and wildlife management practices.

(5) Fires set for disposal of natural growth for land clearing, and trees and limbs felled by storms.

Firefighters say outdoor cooking smokers and grills are not covered under the ban, but they advise using common sense with them.

The Bourbon County Fire Department also issued a burn ban Friday.

Firefighters say they've had to fight several grass fires in Bourbon County this week.

They say they didn't have to enact a burn ban last year, but that isn't the case this year. They say the number of runs for grass fires have gone up.

"Our run volume has more than doubled in the past few days and just strictly on grass fires and brush fires," says Chief Lloyde Campbell with the Bourbon County Fire Department.

They say they've had to call in extra firefighters during the peak hours of the day when grass fires usually happen.

"We have tried to offset it with extra personnel, but it's getting a little bit bigger than we can handle," says Chief Lloyde Campbell.

Burn bans are also in place in at least 15 Kentucky counties, including Bath, Clark, Fleming, Harrison, Jessamine, Scott, and Woodford.

Dry conditions have made things tough recently for firefighters all over central Kentucky.

We're approaching a five inch rainfall deficit in central Kentucky. Meteorologists say Thursday's rain didn't do much to help.

Meanwhile, the state added more counties Friday to its Level I Drought Declaration. Those counties are Butler, Logan, Simpson,
Breckinridge, Grayson, Hardin, Meade, Bullitt, Henry, Jefferson,
Oldham, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble, Boone, Campbell, Carroll,
Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Pendleton, Anderson, Franklin, Harrison,
Nicholas, Scott and Woodford.

Disqus has not been setup for this website.
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 103135159 - wkyt.com/a?a=103135159
Gray Television, Inc.