WKYT - Lexington - Headlines

Dr. Jay Perman honored as the 2010 Public Health Hero

The Lexington-Fayette County Health Department’s Board of Health has selected Dr. Jay Perman as the 2010 Public Health Hero. The award is given annually to individuals who have demonstrated their dedication to improving the health of Lexington residents. The awards are given each April as part of National Public Health Week (April 5-11).

Dr. Perman is dean of the College of Medicine and vice president for clinical affairs of the University of Kentucky. In these roles he oversees all College activities including education of future physicians and scientists, clinical and basic science research and the physician and resident workforce of UK HealthCare. Dr. Perman is one of a few medical school deans in the United States who is also an active practicing physician.

The board gave special emphasis to Dr. Perman’s involvement with the UK Jumpin’ Jaguars after-school program that meets twice a week to promote healthy, active lifestyles. Students are kept active and engaged through hip-hop dance, swimming, Jazzercise and energetic games.

The College of Medicine launched the program in 2006 at Johnson Elementary School where it was named after the school’s mascot. Johnson has since closed, but the program is held at the new school – William Wells Brown Elementary – and is led by the physical education teacher and school social worker. Students from the UK Colleges of Medicine and Nursing serve as coaches to lead the program participants.

Dr. Perman will be recognized at the April 20 Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council meeting and May 10 Board of Health meeting held at the Lexington-Fayette County Health Department, 650 Newtown Pike,

Past winners include the Lexington Lions Club (2009); Dr. David Stevens and the late Dr. Doane Fischer (2008); Dr. Ellen Hahn, Mary Alice Pratt and Therese Moseley (2007); Dr. Andrew Moore and Rosa Martin (2006); Jan Brucato and Dragana Zaimovic (2005); and Dr. John Michael Moore, Ellen Parks and Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government (2004). Dr. Robert Lam received a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.

Disqus has not been setup for this website.
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 89919857 - wkyt.com/a?a=89919857
Gray Television, Inc.