WKYT - Lexington - Headlines

Fayette County names new middle school principals

Three Fayette County middle schools have new principals after the recent selections of leaders for Bryan Station Middle School, Lexington Traditional Magnet School and Tates Creek Middle School. All three candidates had been serving as associate principals in the district.

Henry Clay High School associate principal Lester Diaz is the new principal at Bryan Station Middle; Sharma Nachlinger, who had been associate principal at Leestown Middle, is now principal at LTMS; and Tates Creek associate principal Eric Thornsbury steps into the head job there.

Diaz, Nachlinger and Thornsbury were selected by the School-Based Decision Making Councils at the respective schools. Under Kentucky state law, principals are chosen by a panel of teachers and parents after receiving input from staff, families and community members about the qualities they would like to see in the next leader.

“Each of these SBDM councils worked hard and devoted a lot of time to making the best decision for their schools,” said Superintendent Tom Shelton. “These three new principals are an excellent addition to the middle school team.”

Shelton said he was especially pleased to see the district hiring principals who have come up through the leadership ranks in Fayette County.

“Eric, Sharma and Lester are committed to helping each and every student succeed,” he said. “I have seen their passion for kids, their tireless work ethic, and their dedication to life-long learning. I expect to see great things happening at these three middle schools under their leadership.”

Disqus has not been setup for this website.
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 161143665 - wkyt.com/a?a=161143665
Gray Television, Inc.