WKYT - Morehead - Headlines

Nominations for Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards extended in 55 counties

By: Sharon Dodson, The Center
By: Sharon Dodson, The Center

The deadline for accepting nominations for the 2010 Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards (EIEA) has been extended until June 9 to give people more time to submit names of nominees throughout 55 counties in Kentucky who exemplify the spirit of entrepreneurship to the EIEA nomination committee.

Nominations will be accepted in four categories:

* Business, in existence five or more years with greater than 25 employees
* Small Business, in existence five or more years with 25 or less employees
* Start-Up Business, in existence less than five years
* Not-for-Profit Entity, in existence at least six months

The top three finalists in each category and award recipients will be recognized at an EIEA luncheon on Sept. 13 at The Center for Rural Development in Somerset.

The EIEA awards, sponsored by Eastern Kentucky University’s (EKU) College of Business and Technology, Kentucky Highlands Investment Corporation, and The Center for Rural Development, recognizes businesspeople and entrepreneurs who have created and are managing a successful enterprise.

Nominees are judged on the economic success of the enterprise, contributions to the community, job creation, and operational achievement as measured by innovative business practices, superior safety achievement, and superior technology.

To download a copy of the 2010 EIEA nomination form, please visit www.eiea.eku.edu. A nomination form may also be downloaded from The Center for Rural Development’s website, www.centertech.com, by clicking on the Excellence in Entrepreneurship link.

Nominations may be submitted by any individual or business and must be received by the EIEA nomination committee on or before the June 9 extended deadline. Interested parties can also e-mail the committee at cbt.eiea@eku.edu, or call the EKU College of Business and Technology at (859) 622-2334.

To view in-depth video presentations on each of last year’s winners, visit www.kyean.org.

To be eligible for the Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards competition, nominees must reside in or have their business or organization located within the following counties: Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Boyle, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Garrard, Green, Greenup, Harlan, Hart, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, McCreary, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Metcalf, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Taylor, Wayne, Whitley, or Wolfe.

Disqus has not been setup for this website.
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 94918854 - wkyt.com/a?a=94918854
Gray Television, Inc.