WKYT - Morehead - Headlines

Forward in the Fifth recognizes teacher Regina French for her work to advance education in Bath County

An instructor at Morehead State University/Bath County Adult Education Center has been recognized by Forward in the Fifth for her efforts to advance education in Eastern Kentucky.

Regina French of Owingsville was presented the Appalachian Leaders in Education (AppLE) Award for her work with students to promote lifelong learning and critical workforce skills.

French was awarded the AppLE Award in the higher education category at Forward in the Fifth’s Education Leadership Day on Monday, May 13, at The Center for Rural Development in Somerset.

“Today highlights the immense talent and desire of adults and students alike found within our region,” Jim Tackett, executive director of Forward in the Fifth, said in announcing the award recipients. “It is with this passion and attitude that we will transform Southern and Eastern Kentucky into more educational excellence.”

MSU/Bath County Adult Education, located on Cedar Creek Drive, provides services such as adult education classes, GED preparation, family literacy instruction, English as a second language class, workforce education, and reading instruction for eligible Kentuckians.

“We are pleased to honor our community leaders and educators with Forward in the Fifth AppLE Awards,” said board chairman Dr. Dessie Bowling. “These exceptional leaders work diligently every day to motivate, inspire, and encourage people to have confidence in themselves and the amazing things they accomplish.”

“This year’s award winners are to be commended for continuing to enhance educational progress in Southern and Eastern Kentucky,” added U.S. Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers (KY-05), who helped launch Forward in the Fifth in 1986. “We’re tapping into great ideas from energized educators across the region for new opportunities in preparing our students for post-secondary education and a bright future.”

Other AppLE award winners were Rhonda Crigger, assistant principal, Southside Elementary School, Pike County; Kim Moore, volunteer and academic team coach, Somerset Christian School, Pulaski County; Debbie Joseph Smith, coordinator of Family Resource Youth Services Center, Carr Creek Elementary School, Knott County; Jon Day, guidance counselor, Hazard High School, Perry County; Lana Swartz, head of the science department and teacher, Menifee County High School, Frenchburg; Bob Hutchison, business leader, Johnson County; Bonner Scholars, a service and leadership program for college students at Lindsey Wilson College (LWC), Adair County; and Chuck Coldiron, Pulaski County business and community leader, Lee & Eleanor Rose Ambassador Award.

The AppLE Awards were started in 2012 by Forward in the Fifth to celebrate excellence in education by recognizing individuals who work to accomplish the nonprofit organization’s mission: to increase the educational attainment levels for all in the region.

For more information about Forward in the Fifth, contact Jim Tackett at 606-677-6000 or email fif@centertech.com. Visit www.fif.org to receive the latest news about Forward in the Fifth programs.

Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 207692621 - wkyt.com/a?a=207692621
Gray Television, Inc.