WKYT - Richmond - Headlines

Kentucky Disaster Assistance Expands to 3 More Counties

Federal Emergency Management Agency officials today announced the addition of Madison, Mason and Rowan counties to the disaster declaration for July's severe storms, flooding and mudslides.

"These counties are still recovering from damage caused by the July floods. I appreciate FEMA getting them the assistance they need," Gov. Steve Beshear said.

Residents in these counties can now register for Individual Assistance, which can include grants for homeowners and renters to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are available to homeowners, renters, nonprofit organizations and businesses of all sizes.

Local governments in Madison County are now eligible to apply for funding under FEMA's Public Assistance program to pay for emergency measures, debris removal and to repair and replace infrastructure damaged by the storms.

Eight Kentucky counties are now eligible for some type of federal disaster assistance from FEMA for the July flooding: Carter, Lewis, Madison and Pike for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance; Mason and Rowan for Individual Assistance only; and Elliott and Shelby for Public Assistance only.

Homeowners and renters in Carter, Lewis, Madison, Mason, Pike and Rowan counties should register with FEMA as soon as possible online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling toll-free
800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585.

Disqus has not been setup for this website.
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 100616689 - wkyt.com/a?a=100616689
Gray Television, Inc.