WKYT - Somerset - Headlines

Center for Rural Development adds 3 counties to primary service area

By: rural,development,lonnie,lawson,somerset,hal,rogers
By: rural,development,lonnie,lawson,somerset,hal,rogers

SOMERSET, Ky. (WYMT) - The Center for Rural Development is expanding its 42-county primary service area in Southern and Eastern Kentucky to include three additional counties in Eastern Kentucky.

Lonnie Lawson, president and CEO, announced The Center has added Boyd, Carter, and Elliott counties to its primary service area, which extends from South Central Kentucky to northeastern Kentucky, covering nearly 40 percent of the state.

These three Eastern Kentucky counties are now part of the new Fifth Congressional District served by U.S. Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers (KY-05).

“The addition of Boyd, Carter, and Elliott counties to our primary service area will give The Center a unique opportunity to reach and serve more people than ever before in Eastern Kentucky,” Lawson said. “The Center is committed to changing the lives of people across our region, state, and nation.”

Established in 1996 through the vision of Congressman Rogers and other leaders, The Center—a nonprofit organization based in Somerset, Ky.—serves as a hub of operations from which innovative programs, cutting-edge technology, and essential business services are brought to people in Southern and Eastern Kentucky and elsewhere.

“The Center is fueled by a mission to provide leadership that stimulates innovative and sustainable economic development solutions and a better way of life for all citizens in our region,” Lawson said. “To help accomplish that, The Center concentrates on four Focus Areas: Leadership, Technology, Public Safety, and Arts and Culture.”

The Eastern Kentucky counties of Boyd, Carter, and Elliott were added to the new Fifth Congressional District earlier this year when a compromise plan for a new congressional map, redrawing the boundaries of Kentucky’s six congressional districts, was signed into law by Gov. Steve Beshear.

The Center’s new primary service area includes 45 Southern and Eastern Kentucky counties, including Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Estill, Elliott, Floyd, Garrard, Green, Harlan, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Rowan, Taylor, Wayne, Whitley, and Wolfe.

Disqus has not been setup for this website.
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 172701611 - wkyt.com/a?a=172701611
Gray Television, Inc.