FCPS considering student meal price increase

Some students at Fayette County Public Schools will have to pay for meals again this year and the price may be going up.
Published: Jul. 26, 2022 at 12:41 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WKYT) - Some students at Fayette County Public Schools will have to pay for meals again this year and the price may be going up.

All students in the district ate for free the past two years because of the pandemic, but that’s changing in August.

“We actually have 49 schools where lunch and breakfast are free for all of the students who attend there regardless of their family income,” FCPS spokesperson Lisa Deffendall said.

Deffendall said these 49 schools qualify for the Community Eligibility Provision program based on the percentage of families that qualify for federal assistance. But there are now 18 schools where some students will pay for lunch. You can find a full list of the schools below.

“Under the federal lunch program, we are required to charge a certain percentage of the federal reimbursement rate. And because we have not raised our prices in seven years, we’ve reached that point where we need to do a slight price increase,” Deffendall said.

Students at the 18 schools can still get free meals based on family income. But for students who do have to pay, the price may be going up, as well. The school board is considering a proposal to increase breakfast by 65 cents and lunch by 25 cents.

“We’ve invested in full time nurses. We’ve invested in mental health support. And making sure our students have a healthy meal for breakfast and lunch is just a part of that,” Deffendall said.

The board is expected to vote on the increase next month.

This is the district’s first proposed increase since the 2016-2017 school year.

Community Eligibility Provision Sites (all students eat for free)Non- Community Eligibility Provision Sites (qualified students eat for free)
1. Academy for Leadership at Millcreek
2. Arlington Elementary
3. Ashland Elementary
4. Audrey Grevious Center
5. Booker T. Washington Elementary
6. Breckinridge Elementary
7. Bryan Station Middle
8. Bryan Station High
9. Cardinal Valley Elementary
10. Carter G. Woodson Academy
11. Carter G. Woodson Preparatory Academy
12. Coventry Oak Elementary
13. Crawford Middle
14. Deep Springs Elementary
15. Dixie Elementary
16. Family Care Center
17. Fayette Preschool Center
18. Frederick Douglass High
19. Garden Springs Elementary
20. Glendover Elementary
21. Harrison Elementary
22. James Lane Allen Elementary
23. Julius Marks Elementary
24. Lansdowne Elementary
25. Leestown Middle
26. Lexington Traditional Magnet School
27. Liberty Elementary
28. Martin Luther King Jr. Academy
29. Mary Todd Elementary
30. Meadowthorpe Elementary
31. Morton Middle
32. Northern Elementary
33. Opportunity Middle College
34. Picadome Elementary
35. Rise STEM Academy for Girls
36. Russell Cave Elementary
37. Sandersville Elementary
38. Southern Elementary
39. Southern Middle
40. Squires Elementary
41. Success Academy
42. Tates Creek Elementary
43. Tates Creek High
44. Tates Creek Middle
45. The Learning Center
46. The Stables
47. William Wells Brown Elementary
48. Winburn Middle
49. Yates Elementary
1. Athens-Chilesburg Elementary
2. Beaumont Middle
3. Brenda Cowan Elementary
4. Cassidy Elementary
5. Clays Mill Elementary
6. Edythe J. Hayes Middle
7. Garrett Morgan Elementary
8. Henry Clay High
9. Jessie Clark Middle
10. Lafayette High
11. Maxwell Elementary
12. Paul Laurence Dunbar High
13. Rosa Parks Elementary
14. SCAPA at Bluegrass
15. STEAM Academy
16. Stonewall Elementary
17. Veterans Park Elementary
18. Wellington Elementary
Get the WKYT News app on ROKU, Apple TV and Amazon Fire.
Get the WKYT News app on ROKU, Apple TV and Amazon Fire.(WKYT)

Copyright 2022 WKYT. All rights reserved.