Barr squeezes past McGrath to win Sixth Congressional District race

By  | 

LEXINGTON, Ky. (WKYT) - Rep. Andy Barr has scraped by Democratic challenger Ret. Lt. Col. Amy McGrath and won the tight race to fill Kentucky’s Sixth Congressional District seat.

Since McGrath secured the Democratic primary nomination to oppose Barr in May, their race has garnered loads of national attention as both the Democrats and Republicans tried to shift the balance in the House. Barr even received campaign support from President Donald Trump and other Republican leaders like Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell and House Speaker Paul Ryan.

This race has also set records in the commonwealth. The pair of candidates each raised record amounts of fundraising dollars in the millions.

Barr, who easily won re-election two years ago, is chairman of the House Monetary Policy and Trade Subcommittee. Barr was first elected in 2012 when he ousted Democratic incumbent Ben Chandler.

The district has flip-flopped between the two major political parties since the 1970s.

Kentucky's sixth district includes Anderson, Bath, Bourbon, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Fleming Franklin, Harrison, Jessamine, Madison, Menifee, Montgomery, Nicholas, Powell, Robertson, Scott, Wolfe, and Woodford counties.

After the race was confirmed for Barr he told his crowd that he would be working for all Kentuckians when he got back to Washington D.C., even if they didn't vote for him.

“I think what it comes down to is rolling up our sleeves, having a dialogue, being accessible and listening to people who don’t always agree with one another and trying to find those common shared points of agreement where we can make progress together as a country," said Barr.

In her concession speech McGrath echoed the same sentiment and said that she was thankful for the commonwealth's support during her candidacy.

"We all must remain engaged and not allow setbacks to be the reason we give up," said McGrath. "Most importantly, thank you for your belief in the real soul of our country and for never giving up."

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus