Foster named finalist for Wuerffel Trophy

IRVING, Texas (Dec. 1, 2015) – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that the winner the of the Wuerffel Trophy, which is presented by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Fla., and honors the college football player who best exhibits exemplary community service, will again be announced live during the NFF morning press conference on ESPN3 as part of the festivities surrounding the 58th NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York City on Dec. 8.

The 2015 Wuerffel Trophy finalists are:
• Ty Darlington*, University of Oklahoma, senior, offensive line
• Landon Foster**, University of Kentucky, senior, punter
• Nate Sudfeld**, Indiana University, senior, quarterback
*2015 NFF National Scholar-Athlete and Finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy
**2015 William V. Campbell Trophy Semifinalist

Wuerffel owns one of the most impressive résumés in all of college football history, claiming the Heisman Trophy and quarterbacking the University of Florida to four SEC championships and the 1996 national title. Wuerffel currently heads the Desire Street Ministries in Atlanta, Ga., training leaders to transform impoverished neighborhoods through spiritual and community development, and he has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts.

“This year we had a record number of universities nominating their athletes,” said Tom Brassell, executive director of the Wuerffel Trophy. “It just continues to amaze us to see what good things so many of these young men are doing in serving others in their communities and around the world. We thank the NFF for allowing us to shine a light on our award during its wonderful Annual Awards Dinner.”

A football player is nominated for the Wuerffel Trophy by his university or college sports information director or football liaison. A committee, which includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners, select the finalists, and the winner will be formally announced on Dec. 8, 2015 at the NFF Annual Awards Press Conference, which will air live on ESPN3.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus