Teachers to rally against Senate Bill 1

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WKYT) - Kentucky teachers are not finished pushing back.

"Unified they can't stop us," Cheryl Peña, a first grade teacher at Justice Elementary School, said.

28 schools in eight counties across central Kentucky will voice the same message on Thursday.

"Teachers need to speak up and our voice needs to be heard," Peña said.

"We just want to take the opportunity to make sure that they hear us loud and clear," Kelly Beckett said.

Cheryl Peña is a first grade teacher in Clark County; Kelly Beckett a sixth grade teacher in Franklin County.

Beckett said, "They [lawmakers] drive past our schools every day to go to work."

Both teachers will stand alongside hundreds of others holding up signs asking lawmakers to say no to Senate Bill 1. A "walk-in" is scheduled for Thursday at those 28 schools - most rallying prior to the start of school.

"Teachers often feel like they're not being heard at the government levels, that lawmakers are not listening to what we need," Beckett said. "To cut budgets every year means cutting teachers, means cutting programming, and it's really tough to make every student successful when you keep taking funding away."

Along with budget cut concerns comes pension concerns.

"That's very important because a pension is a promise," Peña said.

These teachers say they're going to continue speaking up until their voices are heard.

"We want them to support us, but also they want us to support them when it comes time for re-election and I think that's something they need to think about, too."

List of schools and districts participating:

Clark County
Justice Elementary- 6:45 a.m.-7:15 a.m.

Danville Schools
Jennie Rogers Elementary- before 7:35 a.m.
John W. Bate Middle School- before 7:45 a.m.
Hogsett Elementary- 7:25 a.m.-7:35 a.m.
Danville High School- 7:35 a.m.-7:55a.m.

Franklin County
Elkhorn Middle School- 7:40 a.m.-8:10 a.m.

Garrard County
Lancaster Elementary- 7:10 a.m. -7:40 a.m.
Garrard County High School- 7:10 a.m. -7:40 a.m.

Lincoln County
Crab Orchard Elementary- 7 a.m.
Lincoln County High School- 7:30 a.m.
Lincoln County Middle School- 7:30 a.m.
McKinney Elementary- 7:40 a.m.
Stanford Elementary- 7:30 a.m.

Montgomery County
Montgomery County Intermediate School- 7 a.m.-7:30 a.m.
McNabb Middle School- 7 a.m.-7:30 a.m.
Montgomery County High School- 7 a.m.-7:30 a.m.
Sterling School- 7 a.m.-7:30 a.m.
MC2- 7 a.m.-7:30 a.m.
Early Learning Center- 7 a.m.-7:30 a.m.
Camargo Elementary- 3 p.m.-3:30 p.m.
Mapleton Elementary- 3 p.m.-3:30 p.m.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus