Barbasol field will include five major winners

Published: Jun. 29, 2018 at 4:50 PM EDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Five former major championship winners will headline the field at the Barbasol Championship, to be played near Lexington July 19-22 at Champions at Keene Trace.

The field of 132 players will include Davis Love III, winner of the 1997 PGA Championship; Retief Goosen, U.S. Open champion in 2001 and 2004; Angel Cabrera, the 2007 U.S. Open winner and 2009 Masters champ; Y.E. Yang, who won the 2009 PGA Championship; and Brittany Lincicome, the 2009 and 2015 ANA Inspiration (LPGA) champion.

Love III's commitment includes the participation of his son, Dru, a former Alabama standout trying to PGA Tour eligibility. Love III captured the 1992 and 2003 THE PLAYERS Championship, and has 21 career tour wins.

Goosen has 36 pro wins around the world, including seven on the PGA Tour.

Cabrera lost in a playoff to Adam Scott in the 2013 Masters. Cabrera has 46 career wins.

Yang has 12 career wins, including the 2009 Honda Classic.

Lincicome becomes only the fifth LPGA member to compete in a PGA Tour event. She has eight wins on the LPGA Tour.