Five new members to be inducted into Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame

Lexington, Kentucky The Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame announced five new inductees on Friday.

The official induction ceremony weekend will take place in Lexington, Kentucky, with a ring ceremony on Thursday, June 21st at a location to be determined and a golf outing fundraiser at Kearney Hills Golf Links and then the induction ceremony at the Lexington Opera House on Friday, June 22nd.

“Kentucky is the only state in the country with a pro football hall of fame,” said Dr. Steve R. Parker, chair of the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame, Inc. board of directors. “We’re in a unique position to recognize great accomplishments in football, but also have as our main objective to offer financial assistance to organizations that enrich the lives of children.”

Proceeds from the 2018 Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame Induction ceremony and golf outing will support the Salvation Army Boys & Girls Club of the Bluegrass. “We, at The Salvation Army Boys & Girls Club, are excited about the opportunity to join with the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame to enhance our ability to impact youth in our community.

The Kentucky Pro football Hall of Fame consists of highly motivated, highly successful individuals who have a passion for investing in kids, just like we do. We believe this opportunity will allow us to increase and improve the numerous activities we make available to our Club members every day and also allow our Club members to meet and be inspired by some of their heroes. We thank the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame for this opportunity and look forward to all that we might accomplish together for the youth of Lexington” said Scott Van Fossen, Executive Director of the Salvation Army Boys & Girls Club of the Bluegrass.

“We’re excited about our relationship with Salvation Army Boys & Girls Club of the Bluegrass whose purpose is to increase the quality of life for children from Kentucky and throughout the world, “said Parker.

Being inducted into the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2018 are:

Tommy Bell - Henry Clay, UK, NFL Referee (1962-1976)

Guy Morriss - Sam Houston (TX); Texas Christian University Philadelphia Eagles (1973-1983); New England Patriots (1984-1987)

Ernest Givins - Pinellas Lakewood (FL); Louisville Houston Oilers (1986-1994); Jacksonville Jaguars (1995)

Tim Lester - Eastern Kentucky University; Los Angeles Rams (1992-1994); Pittsburgh Steelers (1995-1998); Dallas Cowboys (1999-2000)

Wesley Woodyard - LaGrange (GA); UK; Denver Broncos (2008-2013); Tennessee Titans (2014-present)

The legendary Jerome Bettis will receive the 12th annual Blanton Collier Award for Integrity, named after the famous UK and Cleveland Browns coach. The award recognizes individuals who have shown outstanding integrity both on and off the field. Jerome was a running back for the Pittsburgh Steelers from 1996-2005. He is also a Walton Payton NFL Man of the Year, 6 x Pro Bowler and Super Bowl XL champion.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus