Mid-South part of proposed NAIA "Super Conference"

(WKYT) - The 12 school Mid-South Conference, which includes seven Kentucky schools that compete in the NAIA, is on the verge of expansion.

According to the TheLedger.com, the Mid-South Conference and the Sun Conference are planning to merge to form a 20 team, three division, “super-conference” for football. Each division would have its own champion, rather than a single conference champion, according to the report.

Mid-South Conference member presidents are set to vote on the plan Friday, according to the report. If the plan passes – as it is expected to do – further planning would happen in February.

The proposed divisions are as followed.

Bluegrass Division
1. Georgetown
2. Campbellsville
3. Kentucky Christian
4. Lindsey Wilson
5. Bethel
6. Cincinnati Christian
7. Cumberland (TN)

Appalachian Division
1. Pikeville
2. University of the Cumberlands
3. Union (KY)
4. Point
5. Bluefield
6. Reinhardt
7. St. Andrews

Sun Division
1. Southeastern
2. Webber International
3. Ave Maria
4. Edward Waters
5. Warner
6. Faulkner

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus