UK men picked to win SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WKYT) - John Calipari's Kentucky Wildcats have been tabbed to win the SEC title in a vote by the league's media members.

This marks the 14th year the Wildcats have been the preseason pick to win the league since 1998.

Each school selected media members who cover their team, and additional media from across the country were picked by the conference to comprise the voting panel.

Reid Travis and PJ Washington were selected for the All-SEC preseason team. Travis, a transfer from Stanford, was picked to the first-team, while Washington, a sophomore, is a second-team selection.

The two Wildcats, along with freshman Keldon Johnson, also received at least one vote for SEC Player of the Year.

First-Team All-SEC
Daniel Gafford – Arkansas
Reid Travis – Kentucky
Tremont Waters – LSU
Chris Silva – South Carolina
Grant Williams – Tennessee

Second-Team All-SEC
Bryce Brown – Auburn
Jared Harper – Auburn
Jalen Hudson – Florida
PJ Washington – Kentucky
Quinndary Weatherspoon – Mississippi State
Jontay Porter – Missouri
Admiral Schofield – Tennessee

SEC Player of the Year
Grant Williams – Tennessee

Preseason Media Poll
1. Kentucky
2. Tennessee
3. Auburn
4. Mississippi State
5. Florida
6. LSU
7. Alabama
8. Vanderbilt
9. Missouri
10. Arkansas
11. South Carolina
12. Texas A&M
13. Georgia
14. Ole Miss

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus