Joseph Barr Named Second-Team Rolex Junior All-American

BRASELTON, Ga. –– Joseph Barr of Versailles, Ky., was named a second-team Rolex Junior All-American by the American Junior Golf Association Monday, thus joining an esteemed collection of current and former top-level junior golfers from around the world.

Barr, 18, is a senior at Woodford County High School. His 2007 season included four top-10 finishes, including a win at the Bubba Conlee National Junior and three top-10 AJGA finishes. Barr finished third at the Houchens Industries Junior Open and tied for third at the HP Boys Junior Championship. He also finished tied for seventh at the Natural Resource Partners Bluegrass Junior. Ranked No. 26 in the final 2007 Polo Golf Rankings, Barr has verbally committed to continue his golf career as a Kentucky Wildcat in the fall of 2008.

Introduced by the AJGA in 1978, the Rolex Junior All-America Teams annually recognize those players who have established themselves as the world’s premier junior golfers. This year’s selections distinguished themselves through their outstanding play in 76 national events, 54 of which were conducted by the AJGA. The Rolex Junior All-America Teams were determined exclusively through the Polo Golf Rankings (as of Oct. 10).

The teams are comprised of 96 junior golfers, ages 12-18, from 23 states and three foreign countries. These standouts will be honored at the Rolex Junior All-America Awards Banquet Nov. 18 at The Grande Ballroom at Ginn Reunion Resort in Reunion, Fla.

Former Rolex Junior All-Americans comprise the top players on both the PGA and LPGA Tours. Of the PGA TOUR’s current top-10 money leaders, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory Sabbatini, Jim Furyk and Sergio Garcia were all Rolex Junior All-Americans. On the LPGA Tour, Paula Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Morgan Pressel, Angela Park and Brittany Lincicome were named Rolex Junior All-Americans as junior golfers before working their way to the top of the pay-for-play ranks. Other notable professional AJGA alumni who help make up the list of past Rolex Junior All-Americans include Mark Calcavecchia, Woody Austin, Scott Verplank, Hunter Mahan, Stacy Prammanasudh, Sherri Steinhauer and Christina Kim.

Rolex, a supporter of the AJGA since 1983, became an AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. The distinguished timepiece maker is the proprietor of the Rolex Junior Players of the Year, Rolex Junior All-America Teams and the Rolex Junior All-America Awards Banquet. Rolex also sponsors the Rolex Tournament of Champions and Rolex Girls Junior Championship, two of the AJGA’s most competitive major championships. As a Premier Partner, Rolex is the Founding Partner to the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program and an Official Partner of the biennial PING Junior Solheim Cup.

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA, the largest Association of its kind, has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of more than 5,000 junior golfers from 49 states and 30 foreign countries.

For more information, please contact Jenny Evans in the AJGA Communications Department at (770) 868-4200, or visit the AJGA’s Web site at



Boys First Team

Bud Cauley, Jacksonville, Fla.
Jae Han Chun, Ansung-City, South Korea
David Chung, Fayetteville, N.C.
Spencer Cole, Greer, S.C.
Wesley Graham, Port Orange, Fla.
Cody Gribble, Dallas, Texas
Luke Guthrie, Quincy, Ill.
Morgan Hoffmann, Saddlebrook, N.J.
Sihwan Kim, Buena Park, Calif.
Gregor Main, Danville, Calif.
Peter Uihlein, Bradenton, Fla.
Cory Whitsett, Houston, Texas

Boys Second Team

Joseph Barr, Versailles, Ky.
Austin Cody, North Charleston, S.C.
Sean Dale, Jacksonville, Fla.
Mu Hu, Shen Zhen, China
Mark Johnson, Tulsa, Okla.
Alex Kang, Oak Park, Calif.
Alex Shi Yup Kim, Fullerton, Calif.
Lion Kim, Lake Mary, Fla.
Scott Langley, St. Louis, Mo.
Anthony Paolucci, Dallas, Texas
Ramsey Sahyoun, Reseda, Calif.
Sang Yi, Carrollton, Texas

Boys Honorable Mention

Bo Andrews, Raleigh, N.C.
Sean Brannan, Hollidaysburg, Pa.
Sam Braver, Roswell, Ga.
Jacob Burger, Orangeburg, S.C.
Sam Chien, San Diego, Calif.
John Hahn, Kent, Ohio
Hunter Hamrick, Montgomery, Ala.
Zeyu He, Shen Zhen, China
Michael Jae Woo Im, Fullerton, Calif.
Josh Jones, The Colony, Texas
Chan Kim, Chandler, Ariz.
Brooks Koepka, Wellington, Fla.
William Kropp, Edmond, Okla.
Hyun Seok Lim, Fullerton, Calif.
Jace Long, Dixon, Mo.
Brinson Paolini, Virginia Beach, Va.
John Peterson, Fort Worth, Texas
John Popeck, Washington, Pa.
Patrick Reed, Baton Rouge, La.
David Sanders, Mount Laurel, N.J.
Geoffrey Shaw, Edmond, Okla.
Taylor Travis, Fremont, Calif.
Adam Wennerstrom, Austin, Texas
Andrew Yun, Tacoma, Wash.

Girls First Team

Courtney Ellenbogen, Blacksburg, Va.
Mina Harigae, Monterey, Calif.
Vicky Hurst, Melbourne, Fla.
Jennifer Johnson, La Quinta, Calif.
Ayaka Kaneko, Honolulu, Hawaii
Taylore Karle, Scottsdale, Ariz.
Kimberly Kim, Pahoa, Hawaii
Stephanie Kono, Honolulu, Hawaii
Kristen Park, Buena Park, Calif.
Jane Rah, Torrance, Calif.
Alexis Thompson, Coral Springs, Fla.
Allie White, Lancaster, Ohio

Girls Second Team

Sarah Brown, Phillipsburg, N.J.
Sydney Burlison, Salinas, Calif.
Cydney Clanton, Charlotte, N.C.
Brianna Do, Lakewood, Calif.
Danielle Frasier, Encinitas, Calif.
Megan Grehan, Mamaroneck, N.Y.
Isabelle Lendl, Bradenton, Fla.
Tiffany Lua, Rowland Heights, Calif.
Mary Michael Maggio, Conway, Ark.
Rachel Morris, Carlsbad, Calif.
Michelle Shin, Cape Coral, Fla.
Julie Yang, Phoenix, Ariz.

Girls Honorable Mention

Marina Alex, Wayne, N.J.
Elisa Aoki, Bradenton, Fla.
Kyndall Ardoin, Gibsland, La.
Doris Chen, Bradenton, Fla.
Won Joo Choi, Temecula, Calif.
Lindy Duncan, Daytona Beach, Fla.
Rebecca Durham, St. Simons Island, Ga.
Austin Ernst, Seneca, S.C.
Evan Jensen, Belleair, Fla.
Mitsuki Katahira, Wheaton, Ill.
Stacey Kim, Columbus, Ga.
Diane Kwon, Fremont, Calif.
Lee Lopez, Whittier, Calif.
Lisa McCloskey, Montgomery, Texas
Sarah Salvo, Glendale, Calif.
Haley Sanders, Rogers, Ark.
Milena Savich, Carmel, Ind.
Natalie Sheary, West Hartford, Conn.
Kelly Shon, Port Washington, N.Y.
Jaclyn Sweeney, Bradenton, Fla.
Stephanie Wagstaff, Asheville, N.C.
Jessica Wallace, Langley, B.C.
Kristina Wong, Bradenton, Fla.
Cheyenne Woods, Phoenix, Ariz.